Chicago Live In Japan (2-CD)

Live In Japan (2-CD)
52 ratings
Sale: $17.98
SUPER SAVINGS: $16.23 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $3.75 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  3989F
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 11, 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Rhino

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Dialogue, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 2.A Hit by Var┼áse
  • 3.Lowdown
  • 4.State of the Union
  • 5.Saturday in the Park
  • 6.Ballet for a Girl in Buchannon
  • 7.Make Me Smile
  • 8.So Much To Say, So Much To Give
  • 9.Anxiety's Moment
  • 10.West Virginia Fantasies
  • 11.Colour My World
  • 12.To Be Free
  • 13.Now More than Ever
  • 14.Beginnings
  • 15.Mississippi Delta City Blues

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.A Song for Richard and His Friends
  • 2.Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is? (Free Form Intro)
  • 3.Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?
  • 4.Questions 67 and 68
  • 5.25 or 6 to 4
  • 6.I'm a Man
  • 7.Free

Product Description:

Personnel: Jerry Kath (vocals, guitar); Robert Lamm (vocals, keyboards); Peter Cetera (vocals); Walter Perazaider (woodwinds, percussion); Lee Loughnare (trumpet, percussion, background vocals); James Pankow (trombone, percussion); Daniel Seraphine (drums).
Recording information: Osaka Festival Hall (06/1972).
This double-length set, not the "legendary" four-LP Carnegie Hall concert, is the one to get to hear what Chicago sounded like in their classic early period. In contrast to the Carnegie Hall show, where the band emphasized its precision to the point of deadening any excitement that might have been generated, here Chicago sounds upbeat and lively, bent on giving a good, exciting show and not on capturing a perfect performance. There are moments, as on the crescendo of "Dialogue," where the spirit outstrips the cleanness of the performance, but the group is so tight and forceful that one lets them slide by; at other times, as on "Beginnings," they're so smooth and lithe in their extension of the piece that one just wants to bask in it; and then they switch gears to the rougher, harder "Mississippi Delta City Blues," and make that work too. The whole performance is good, with a steady stream of worthwhile high points. The repertory runs up through "Saturday in the Park" and "Dialogue," and includes the core of their albums up through Chicago V (including the notorious "Song for Richard Nixon and His Friends"). The recording is so close that one hears every bass note and guitar lick, and feels practically in the bells of the trumpets, trombones, and so on, and the mix is vivid and spacious. It shows what an embarrassment of riches Columbia was faced with in the group's output that they never issued this performance in America, favoring the more hyped but far less entertaining and exciting Carnegie Hall show -- it was only Chicago's buying back of their catalog in the mid-'90s that got Live in Japan released in the U.S., more than 20 years after its first appearance in Japan. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 52 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Chicago

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 87,209
  • UPC: 081227973445
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)