The Dillards There Is a Time (1963-70)

There Is a Time (1963-70)
10% OFF
Rating 4.6
32 ratings
List Price: $17.98
Your Price: $16.18
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  VAN 131-32
on most orders of $75
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Label: Vanguard Records


  • 1.Introduction
  • 2.Banjo in the Hollow
  • 3.Dooley
  • 4.Polly Vaughn
  • 5.The Old Home Place
  • 6.Somebody Touched Me
  • 7.Hamilton County Breakdown
  • 8.Walkin' Down the Line
  • 9.Never See My Home Again
  • 10.Paddy on the Turnpike
  • 11.Old Blue
  • 12.Liberty
  • 13.There Is a Time
  • 14.The Whole World 'Round
  • 15.Sally Johnson
  • 16.Yesterday
  • 17.Ebo Walker
  • 18.Rainmaker
  • 19.Copperfields
  • 20.Old Man at the Mill
  • 21.Lemon Chimes
  • 22.I'll Fly Away
  • 23.Nobody Knows
  • 24.Listen to the Sound
  • 25.Reason to Believe
  • 26.Hey Boys
  • 27.I've Just Seen a Face
  • 28.Don't You Cry
  • 29.She Sang Hymns Out of Tune

Product Description:

Personnel: Rodney Dillard (guitar, dobro, pedal steel guitar, vocals); Douglas Dillard (banjo, vocals); Herb Pedersen (guitar, banjo, vocals); Buddy Emmons (pedal steel guitar); Dean Webb (mandolin, vocals); Byron Berline (fiddle); Jimmy Haskell (strings); Jimmy Bond, Mitch Jayne, Joe Osborn (bass); Jimmy Gordon, Toxey French, Earl Palmer (drums); Paul York (drums, percussion).
Producers: Jim Dickson, Rodney Dillard, Jimmy Hilton, John Boylan.
Includes liner notes by Neil V. Rosenberg.
The Dillards: Rodney Dilalrd (guitar); Buddy Emmons (pedal steel guitar); Rodney Dillard (dobro); Herb Pedersen (banjo); Dean Webb (mandolin); Jimmy Haskell (strings); Jimmy Bond, Mitch Jayne (acoustic bass); Joe Osborn (electric bass); Paul York, Earl Palmer , Jimmy Gordon, Toxey French (drums).
Personnel: Doug Dillard (banjo).
Additional personnel: Byron Berline.
Twenty-nine tracks drawn from the Dillards' first five albums (originally on Elektra), which are otherwise unavailable. The CD is assembled not in chronological order, but with musical coherence as the main determining factor, so tracks from different albums get juxtaposed together. From Back Porch Bluegrass we get five songs, including "Banjo in the Hollow" and "Dooley" (another version of which they performed with Andy Griffith on his TV show), while Pickin' and Fiddlin' is represented by the bracing "Hamilton County Breakdown" and "Sally Johnson." Live!!! Almost!!! gets six tracks, including the group's version of Dylan's "Walkin' Down the Line." There are five numbers (including the title track and the Beatles' "Yesterday") off of their 1970 release, Copperfields, and the legendary Wheatstraw Suite, from two years earlier, has nine songs, among them the group's loving covers of the Beatles' "I've Just Seen a Face" and Tim Hardin's "Reason to Believe." ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.6
Based on 32 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Dillards

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 79,352
  • UPC: 015707003124
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: