Uncle Tupelo Still Feel Gone [Bonus Tracks]

Still Feel Gone [Bonus Tracks]
12% OFF
Rating 4.8
28 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Item:  SNY 86428
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 10/03, p.131
4 stars out of 5 - "...A more measured Crazy Horse-like folk-rock distinguished 1991's STILL FEEL GONE..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Gun
  • Buy for $0.992.Looking For A Way Out
  • Buy for $0.993.Fall Down Easy
  • Buy for $0.994.Nothing
  • Buy for $0.995.Still Be Around
  • Buy for $0.996.Watch Me Fall
  • Buy for $0.997.Punch Drunk
  • Buy for $0.998.Postcard
  • Buy for $0.999.D. Boon
  • Buy for $0.9910.True To Life
  • Buy for $0.9911.Cold Shoulder
  • Buy for $0.9912.Discarded
  • Buy for $0.9913.If That's Alright
  • Buy for $0.9914.Sauget Wind
  • Buy for $0.9915.I Wanna Destroy You - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9916.Watch Me Fall - (previously unreleased, demo)
  • Buy for $0.9917.Looking For A Way Out - (previously unreleased, demo, fast version)
  • Buy for $0.9918.If That's Alright - (previously unreleased, demo, fast acoustic version)

Product Description:

This reissue contains 5 bonus tracks; 3 previously unreleased, plus 1 that appears on CD for the first time.
Uncle Tupelo: Jay Farrar (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, banjo, mandolin, harmonica); Jeff Tweedy (vocals, acoustic guitar); Mike Heidorn (drums).
Additional personnel includes: Brian Henneman (acoustic guitar); Gary Louris (electric guitar); Chris Bess (accordion, piano); Sean Slade (piano, organ).
Includes liner notes by Holly George Warren.
Personnel: Jay Farrar (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, banjo, mandolin, harmonica); Jeff Tweedy (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, background vocals); Brian Henneman (guitar, acoustic guitar, background vocals); Gary Louris (electric guitar); Chris Bess (accordion, piano); Sean Slade (piano, organ, background vocals); Michael Heidorn (drums, background vocals); O.K. Chorale (background vocals).
Liner Note Author: Holly George-Warren.
Recording information: Fort Apache, Cambridge, MA (06/1991-07/1991); Longview Farm, North Brookfield, MA (06/1991-07/1991).
Photographer: Mo Daoud.
Unknown Contributor Role: Rich Gilbert.
Uncle Tupelo clearly defined their nervy Gram Parsons-meets-the Minutemen sound on their debut album, 1990's No Depression, and their 1991 follow-up, Still Feel Gone, found them branching out into new variations of their previously established themes. While No Depression was dominated by breakneck tempos with the occasional slow, contemplative number thrown in for variety, Still Feel Gone found Uncle Tupelo taking a closer look at the middle ground, as evidenced by the high-strung acoustic guitars of "Still Be Around," the measured but powerful Crazy Horse stomp of "Looking for a Way Out," the lonesome shuffle of "True to Life," and the stark atmospherics of "If That's Alright" (the latter of which in retrospect sounds like the first dawning of the ideas Jeff Tweedy would explore with Wilco). But plenty of what made No Depression so impressive is still on view here, including the brutal stutter-step of "Gun," the simple but powerful declaration of "Watch Me Fall," and the heartfelt tribute to an obvious influence, "D. Boon." And if anything, the band sounds even more powerful this time out, and the broader picture of their abilities only confirms how strong a combination Jay Farrar, Jeff Tweedy, and Mike Heidorn really were. If Still Feel Gone isn't as immediately impressive as No Depression, a few plays confirms it's still the work of a gifted band at full strength, and this reissue gives the album the special treatment it deserves. ~ Mark Deming
RadioIO Offer

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 28 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Uncle Tupelo

Product Info:

  • UPC: 696998642829
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item