Uncle Tupelo March 16-20, 1992

March 16-20, 1992
33 ratings
Price: $7.18
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $0.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  S7Y9
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Sony

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 1/22/93, p.57
"...a moving and sincere New Depression manifesto....[a] song cycle that lovers of early Dylan or Bruce Springsteen's NEBRASKA will find startlingly impressive..." - Rating: B+
Q - 10/03, p.131
4 stars out of 5 - "...[This album] exposed the aching core of Tweedy and Farrar's songwriting..."
Uncut - 9/03, p.122
4 stars out of 5 - "...A superb all-acoustic affair....They really went the extra country mile..."
Alternative Press - 2/93, p.61
"...Eschewing grunge for easygoing acoustic guitars, banjos, mandolins and some steel guitar, most of the songs here are gems of economy, melodic movement and lyrical wit...an exceptional album..."
Dirty Linen - 4-5/93, p.90
"...a unified, righteous rant against capitalism and societal indifference to the plight of the workingman...reminds one of the virtues of Appalachian music as a medium for social protest. A totally convincing CD..."
Option - 11-12/92, p.151
"...further solidifies the group's standing as one of the most honest, genuine and uncompromising bands around....It all adds up to some of the most beautiful and moving, politically progressive, blue-collar country-folk songs recorded in the digital age..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Grindstone
  • Buy for $0.992.Coalminers
  • Buy for $0.993.Wait Up
  • Buy for $0.994.Criminals
  • Buy for $0.995.Shaky Ground
  • Buy for $0.996.Satan, Your Kingdom Must Come Down
  • Buy for $0.997.Black Eye
  • Buy for $0.998.Moonshiner
  • Buy for $0.999.I Wish My Baby Was Born
  • Buy for $0.9910.Atomic Power
  • Buy for $0.9911.Lilli Schull
  • Buy for $0.9912.Warfare
  • Buy for $0.9913.Fatal Wound
  • Buy for $0.9914.Sandusky
  • Buy for $0.9915.Wipe The Clock
  • Buy for $0.9916.Take My Word - (previously unreleased)
  • Buy for $0.9917.Grindstone - (previously unreleased, 1991 Longview Farm acoustic demo)
  • Buy for $0.9918.I Wanna Be Your Dog - (previously unreleased, 1991 Longview acoustic demo)
  • Buy for $0.9919.Moonshiner - (live, 1/24/1993)
  • Buy for $0.9920.Waltons Theme, The - (hidden track)

Product Description:

Contains a hidden track following "Moonshiner (Live)".
Uncle Tupelo: Jay Farrar (vocals, 6 & 12 string guitars, harmonica, bass); Jeff Tweedy (vocals, 6 & 12 string guitars, bass); Mike Heidorn (drums, cymbals, tambourine).
Additional personnel includes: Brian Henneman (guitar, slide guitar, banjo, bouzouki, mandolin); John Kean (guitar, pedal steel guitar, banjo, bass); Andy Carlson (violin); Bill Holmes (accordion); David Barbe (bass).
Principally recorded live at The Music Faucet, East Orange, New Jersey and John Keane Studios, Athens, Georgia between July 1990 & March 1992. Originally released on Rockville Records (6090). Includes liner notes by David Fricke.
On its third outing, Uncle Tupelo decided to leave the electric guitars behind, opting instead for an earthy acoustic sound. (In fact, the album's only electric noise is guitar feedback on "Wait Up," provided by producer Peter Buck of R.E.M.). The resulting MARCH 16-20, 1992 is a folksy mix of traditional and original songs filled with the rural and industrial imagery of Appalachia.
Tupelo originals like "Grindstone," "Shaky Ground," and "Black Eye" are heartfelt songs about working-class woes, while traditional tunes such as "Coalminers," "Satan, Your Kingdom Must Come Down," and the Louvin Brothers' "Atomic Power" are inspired interpretations. Before the somber closing of "Wipe the Clock," the band performs the gorgeous "Sandusky," which ranks along with the most beautiful instrumentals ever to grace any rock, folk, or country album. Throughout MARCH 16-20, 1992, the Farrar/Tweedy originals and traditional songs blend effortlessly, tied together by sincerity and earnestness far too rare in contemporary music.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 33 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Uncle Tupelo

Product Info

  • UPC: 696998642621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)