Beres Hammond The Best of Beres Hammond: Can't Stop a Man (2-CD)

The Best of Beres Hammond: Can't Stop a Man (2-CD)
22 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $25.19
List Price: $27.99
You Save: $2.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  35GWE
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: VP Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.One Step Ahead
  • Buy for $0.992.I'm So in Love
  • Buy for $0.993.Last War
  • Buy for $0.994.Groovy Little Thing
  • Buy for $0.995.What One Dance Can Do
  • Buy for $0.996.She Loves Me Now
  • Buy for $0.997.Tempted to Touch
  • Buy for $0.998.Putting Up Resistance
  • Buy for $0.999.Come Back Home
  • Buy for $0.9910.Full Attention
  • Buy for $0.9911.Who Say
  • Buy for $0.9912.Live On
  • Buy for $0.9913.Double Trouble
  • Buy for $0.9914.Step Aside
  • Buy for $0.9915.Love Means Never to Say You're Sorry
  • Buy for $0.9916.Show It Off
  • Buy for $0.9917.Doctor's Orders
  • Buy for $0.9918.My Wish
  • Buy for $0.9919.Sweetness
  • Buy for $0.9920.Sugar You Want

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $0.991.Preacher Man
  • Buy for $0.992.Left Me Crying
  • Buy for $0.993.I Could Beat Myself
  • Buy for $0.994.No Disturb Sign
  • Buy for $0.995.Can't Stop a Man
  • Buy for $0.996.Love from a Distance
  • Buy for $0.997.Sweet Lies
  • Buy for $0.998.Call on the Father
  • Buy for $0.999.Warriors Don't Cry
  • Buy for $0.6910.Queen & Lady
  • Buy for $0.9911.Hold On
  • Buy for $0.9912.Can You Play Some More
  • Buy for $0.9913.They Gonna Talk
  • Buy for $0.9914.Rockaway
  • Buy for $0.9915.Ain't It Good to Know
  • Buy for $0.9916.Come Down Father
  • Buy for $0.9917.Ain't That Loving You
  • Buy for $0.9918.Dancehall Vibes
  • Buy for $0.9919.Giving Thanks - (live)

Product Description:

Personnel: Beres Hammond, U-Roy, Zap Pow, Buju Banton, Marcia Griffiths, Big Youth.
Producers include: Willie Lindo, Joe Gibbs, Zap Pow, Beres Hammond, Donovan Germain.
Recorded between 1976 & 2002. Includes liner notes by Rob Kenner.
Liner Note Author: Robby Kenner.
Recording information: Hammerstein Ballroom.
Photographers: Marlon "Ajamu" Myrie; William Richards; Anders Jones; David Corio.
Can't Stop a Man collects some of Beres Hammond's biggest Jamaican hits, beginning with his first, "One Step Ahead" from 1976, a song produced by Willie Lindo. Moving chronologically through to 2003's sweet and infectious "Dancehall Vibes," which features Big Youth and is one of the highlights here, this two-disc set is a wonderful introduction to this woefully underappreciated singer and writer. With a voice that combines Marvin Gaye's subtle phrasing, Sam Cooke's easy charm, and the soulful power of a David Ruffin, Hammond has a talent for graceful, easy-flowing lovers rock, but he has also effortlessly managed to work light dancehall and hip-hop elements into his work, giving him an uncommon longevity in the ever-shifting sea of styles that is the trademark of Jamaican music. Key tracks here include "Last War," "Who Say" (with Buju Banton),"Sugar You Want," and "Rockaway," a fond reminiscence of the island's roots era. Lovingly packaged, Can't Stop a Man includes track-by-track annotation and discussion. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 22 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Beres Hammond

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 34,900
  • UPC: 054645166423
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)