The Residents Demonic: Live in Oslo (2-CD)

Demonic: Live in Oslo (2-CD)
Price: $26.96
List Price: $29.95
You Save: $2.99 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  GE2C
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: November 6, 2012
  • Label: Cryptic Corporation

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - 01/03, p.126
4 stars out of 5 - "...Its folksy, disembodied keyboard washes and softly intoned lyrics convey a sense of confusion without attempting to supply any simple answers..."
The Wire - 9/02, p.62
"...The tunes are often upbeat and catchy..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 10/02, p.102
"...DEMONS DANCE ALONE is an excellent bent-pop song-cycle in the mode of their classic DUCK STAB. [Their] access to wonderful mysteries remains unimpeded..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Thundering Skies
  • 2.Betty's Body
  • 3.Mickey Macaroni
  • 4.Wolverines
  • 5.Wonderful, Pt. 1
  • 6.Caring
  • 7.Weather Man
  • 8.My Brother Paul
  • 9.Car Thief
  • 10.Wonderful, Pt. 2
  • 11.Baja
  • 12.Plains to Mexico / Golden Goat / Shoe Salesman

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Beekeeper
  • 2.Honey Bear
  • 3.Ghost Child
  • 4.Vampire
  • 5.Wonderful, Pt. 3
  • 6.Neediness
  • 7.Demons Dance Alone

Product Description:

DEMONS DANCE ALONE is the Residents at their most poppish. Although, fittingly, it's a candy coating over a darkly beating heart. Recorded in the Residents' 30th year as an ensemble, DEMONS DANCE ALONE harks back to such bleakly gleeful works as DUCK STAB and THE COMMERCIAL ALBUM. The opening number, "Life Would Be Wonderful," captures the tone of the whole set. After its opening foundation of whispered voices followed by a keyboard figure, a trumpet enters, offering a melody that is the very picture of melancholy. The song's title is the chorus, sung by multi-tracked female voices.
The focus here (and throughout) is on the "would be"--there's never a "Life IS Wonderful" with The Residents. The sounds of vulnerability and uncertainty make this album one of the Residents' most warmly human. With their extensive use of female vocals, there's an additional lilting beauty and a ray of light to these songs of dashed hopes, evil powers, and fractured circumstances.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Residents

Product Info

  • UPC: 812616015657
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)