Joni Mitchell The Studio Albums 1968-1979 (10-CD)

The Studio Albums 1968-1979 (10-CD)
14 copies available
Sale: $61.19
SUPER SAVINGS: $59.29 Limited Time Only
List Price: $67.99
You Save: $8.70 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (10 Discs)
sku:  GDXE
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 10
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Rhino

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.I Had a King
  • 2.Michael from Mountains
  • 3.Night in the City
  • 4.Marcie
  • 5.Nathan La Franeer
  • 6.Sisotowbell Lane
  • 7.The Dawntreader
  • 8.The Pirate of Penance
  • 9.Song to a Seagull
  • 10.Cactus Tree

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Tin Angel
  • 2.Chelsea Morning
  • 3.I Don't Know Where I Stand
  • 4.That Song About the Midway
  • 5.Roses Blue
  • 6.The Gallery
  • 7.I Think I Understand
  • 8.Songs to Aging Children Come
  • 9.The Fiddle and the Drum
  • 10.Both Sides, Now

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Morning Morgantown
  • 2.For Free
  • 3.Conversation
  • 4.Ladies of the Canyon
  • 5.Willy
  • 6.The Arrangement
  • 7.Rainy Night House
  • 8.The Priest
  • 9.Blue Boy
  • 10.Big Yellow Taxi
  • 11.Woodstock
  • 12.The Circle Game

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.All I Want
  • 2.My Old Man
  • 3.Little Green
  • 4.Carey
  • 5.Blue
  • 6.California
  • 7.This Flight Tonight
  • 8.River
  • 9.A Case of You
  • 10.The Last Time I Saw Richard

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Banquet
  • 2.Cold Blue Steel and Sweet Fire
  • 3.Barangrill
  • 4.Lesson in Survival
  • 5.Let the Wind Carry Me
  • 6.For the Roses
  • 7.See You Sometime
  • 8.Electricity
  • 9.You Turn Me On I'm a Radio
  • 10.Blonde in the Bleachers
  • 11.Woman of Heart and Mind
  • 12.Judgement of the Moon and Stars (Ludwig's Tune)

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.Court and Spark
  • 2.Help Me
  • 3.Free Man In Paris
  • 4.People's Parties
  • 5.Same Situation
  • 6.Car on a Hill
  • 7.Down to You
  • 8.Just like This Train
  • 9.Raised on Robbery
  • 10.Trouble Child
  • 11.Twisted

Tracks on Disc 7:

  • 1.In France They Kiss on Main Street
  • 2.The Jungle Line
  • 3.Edith and the Kingpin
  • 4.Don't Interrupt the Sorrow
  • 5.Shades of Scarlett Conquering
  • 6.The Hissing of Summer Lawns
  • 7.The Boho Dance
  • 8.Harry's House / Centerpiece
  • 9.Sweet Bird
  • 10.Shadows and Light

Tracks on Disc 8:

  • 1.Coyote
  • 2.Amelia
  • 3.Furry Sings the Blues
  • 4.A Strange Boy
  • 5.Hejira
  • 6.Song For Sharon
  • 7.Black Crow
  • 8.Blue Motel Room
  • 9.Refuge of the Roads

Tracks on Disc 9:

  • 1.Overture: Cotton Avenue
  • 2.Talk To Me
  • 3.Jericho
  • 4.Paprika Plains
  • 5.Otis and Marlena
  • 6.The Tenth World
  • 7.Dreamland
  • 8.Don Juan's Reckless Daughter
  • 9.Off Night Back Street
  • 10.The Silky Veils of Ardor

Tracks on Disc 10:

  • 1.Happy Birthday 1975 [Rap]
  • 2.God Must Be a Boogie Man
  • 3.Funeral [Rap]
  • 4.A Chair in the Sky
  • 5.The Wolf That Lives In Lindsey
  • 6.I's a Muggin' [Rap]
  • 7.Sweet Sucker Dance
  • 8.Coin In the Pocket [Rap]
  • 9.The Dry Cleaner From Des Moines [Rap]
  • 10.Lucky [Rap]
  • 11.Goodbye Pork Pie Hat

Product Description:

One has to wonder why this box, Joni Mitchell's The Studio Albums 1968-1979, was issued only in the European market. During this period --and some would argue even after -- Mitchell had one of most consistent quality runs in pop history. She is one of the most influential songwriters and recording artists of the 20th century. Included here are Song to a Seagull, Clouds, Ladies of the Canyon, Blue, For the Roses, Court and Spark, Hissing of Summer Lawns, Hejira, the double album Don Juan's Reckless Daughter, and Mingus. The first four are regarded as her "singer/songwriter" era offerings, the next one (For the Roses) details her crossing over into pop success (without compromise, of course), and the final five as her "jazz period," an era that lasted longer than her tenure with Warner Bros, and into her years at Geffen. What's remarkable is that they are all indelibly Mitchell. From the earliest, her vocal phrasing and guitar playing were just off enough to underscore the depth and poetry in her lyrics. By the time she reached For the Roses, she was already inventing new melodic and rhythmic paths. By Hissing of Summer Lawns, Hejira, and especially on Don Juan's Reckless Daughter, she was off-road, cutting a new swath of rhythmic invention in popular music, utilizing jazz syncopation and harmonics, Brazilian and Latin rhythms, and even modal elements that seemed to make time, melody, and lyric concerns more elastic. There is a great anecdote from Robbie Robertson about Mitchell asking the Band to back her at the Watkins Glen rock festival. They were unable to play with her because only drummer Levon Helm could flow with her sense of groove. All these albums feature their own mini-LP sleeves (no fancy paper, sorry). There is no bonus material of any kind included. The art is not so much redone as extremely reduced, making most of the print small enough that reading can be difficult. There is no liner essay in the package, either. The plus -- in addition to a stellar body of music -- is that the price is right; each album prices out to considerably less than these recordings sell for individually. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Joni Mitchell

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 90,575
  • UPC: 081227971786
  • Shipping Weight: 0.83/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 10 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)