Bert Jansch Heartbreak (2-CD)

Heartbreak (2-CD)
2 ratings
Price: $14.38
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $1.60 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  GDWJ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: November 6, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Omnivore Recordings

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Blackwater Side
  • 2.Sit Down Beside Me
  • 3.Up To The Stars
  • 4.Is It Real?
  • 5.Wild Mountain Thyme
  • 6.Heartbreak Hotel
  • 7.No Rhyme Nor Reason
  • 8.If I Were A Carpenter
  • 9.Give Me The Time
  • 10.And Not A Word Was Said

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Curragh of Kildare (Live At McCabe's Guitar Shop)
  • 2.Poor Mouth (Live At McCabe's Guitar Shop)
  • 3.Blackwater Slide (Live At McCabe's Guitar Shop)
  • 4.One For Jo (Live At McCabe's Guitar Shop)
  • 5.Let Me Sing (Live At McCabe's Guitar Shop)
  • 6.If I Were a Carpenter (Live At McCabe's Guitar Shop)
  • 7.Blues Run the Game (Live At McCabe's Guitar Shop)
  • 8.It Is Real? (Live At McCabe's Guitar Shop)
  • 9.Ask Your Daddy (Live At McCabe's Guitar Shop)
  • 10.First Time Ever I Saw Your Face (Live At McCabe's Guitar Shop)
  • 11.Kingfisher (Live At McCabe's Guitar Shop)
  • 12.Wild Mountain Thyme (Live At McCabe's Guitar Shop)
  • 13.Come Back Baby (Live At McCabe's Guitar Shop)
  • 14.I Am Lonely (Live At McCabe's Guitar Shop)

Product Description:

Performers include: Albert Lee, Jennifer Warnes.
Personnel: Bert Jansch (vocals, acoustic guitar); Albert Lee (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin); Matt Betton (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Rick Chelew; John Chelew ; Ralph McTell.
Recording information: McCabe's Guitar Shop, Santa Monica, CA (06/1981); Silverlake Recording Studio, Los Angeles, CA (06/1981); McCabe's Guitar Shop, Santa Monica, CA (06/20/1981); Silverlake Recording Studio, Los Angeles, CA (06/20/1981).
Editor: Rick Chelew.
Photographers: Rick Chelew; Claudia Kunin; John Chelew .
Bert Jansch was a wonderfully maverick musician, as much a gypsy as he was anything, but he was also remarkably consistent to his own vision as a guitarist and songwriter throughout his career, which began when he borrowed a guitar and played a riveting set into a reel-to-reel recorder in his kitchen in the early '60s, which resulted in his first album, simply called Bert Jansch, released on the tiny Transatlantic label in 1965. Mixing jazz, American blues, and British folk into an intense and brilliant acoustic guitar style, he wrote sparse and ruggedly romantic songs while artfully reimagining traditional fare to fit his template, and with his smoky, hard-traveled vocals, he was as consistent a studio artist as we've had in the past 40 years, and every one of his 23 studio albums, even if some of them seem like curious missteps, was unmistakably Bert Jansch. He wasn't built for the commercial mainstream, though, and by the late '70s he was drinking heavily, and while he was too much a talent to not bring something special to everything he played, he seemed to be creatively spent and just barely afloat. In the spring of 1981, two young fans, brothers Rick Chelew and John Chelew, borrowed money from their mother to bring Jansch to California and record an album at Silverlake Studio, hiring in musicians (including Albert Lee and Jennifer Warnes) to support, and lining up gigs for Jansch in the area between sessions to get him some extra money. The album that resulted, Heartbreak, was released in 1982 (on Logo Records in the U.K. and on Joe Boyd's Hannibal Records in the U.S.) and was somewhat of a mixed bag, with Jansch doing yet another version of his signature "Blackwater Side" (this time with Albert Lee on mandolin), delivering fine takes of the traditional "Wild Mountain Thyme" and Tim Hardin's "If I Were a Carpenter," and stumbling through a misguided attempt at "Heartbreak Hotel." It wasn't a bad album, but it was clearly Jansch treading water and trying not to creatively drown, and it quickly went out of print. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Bert Jansch

Product Info

  • UPC: 816651012428
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)