Tish Hinojosa The Best of Tish Hinojosa: Live

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
7 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $18.98
Your Price: $17.08
You Save: $1.90 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  ROUP 613221

CD Details

  • Released: May 13, 2003
  • Label: Rounder / Umgd

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - 9/03, p.124
3 stars out of 5 - "...Warm, relaxed and uplifting..."


  • 1.Laughing River Running
  • 2.Aquella Noche
  • 3.Taos To Tennessee
  • 4.In The Real West
  • 5.Bandera Del Sol
  • 6.Donde Voy (Where I Go)
  • 7.Something In The Rain
  • 8.Poquita Fe
  • 9.Roses Around My Feet
  • 10.I'm Not Through Loving You Yet
  • 11.She's a Highway
  • 12.Otra Vez (Once Again)
  • 13.Con Su Pluma En Su Mano
  • 14.West Side Of Town
  • 15.Manos Huesos Y Sangre / Hands Bones And Blood (Song For Frida Kahlo)
  • 16.God's Own Open Road
  • 17.Cumbia Polka Y Mas

Product Description:

Personnel: Tish Hinojosa; Marvin Dykhuis (acoustic & electric guitars, mandolin, background vocals); Marty Muse (pedal steel guitar); Danny Levin (violin, cello, piano, keyboards); Santiago Jimenez Jr. (accordion); Glenn Kawamoto (electric bass, background vocals); Robert Madden (drums); Arturo Garza (percussion).
Recorded at The Cactus Cafe, Austin, Texas on August 2, 2002.
Personnel: Tish Hinojosa (strings); Marvin Denton Dykhuis (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, mandolin); Danny Levin (violin, cello, piano, keyboards); Santiago Jimenez, Jr. (accordion); Glenn Kawamoto (electric bass); Arturo Garza (percussion).
Audio Mixers: Chet Himes; Todd Dillion.
Liner Note Author: Tish Hinojosa.
Recording information: Cactus Cafe, Austin, TX (08/02/2002).
Photographer: Susanne Mason.
This best-of is an unconventional one -- though its type is becoming increasingly less so as the 21st century immerses itself in nostalgia from Tish Hinojosa. The recordings were done with a reunion band at the Cactus Caf? in Austin in 2002. There are 17 songs here, 15 of which come from albums she recorded on four different labels and cover the period from 1980-2002. Along with her regular band, which includes the truly gifted Marvin Dykhuis on all things with strings, pianist Danny Levin, Marty Muse on pedal steel, percussionist Arturo Garza, Glenn Kawamoto on bass, and drummer Bob Madden, there is a guest appearance by the incomparable Santiago Jimenez Jr. on accordion. Everything one would except from Hinojosa is here -- "Taos to Tennessee," "Aquella Noche," "Bandera del Sol," "I'm Not Through Loving You Yet," "She's a Highway," "Otra Vez," "Donde Voy," "Roses Around My Feet," "Little Faith," and others. The sound is pristine, which is in keeping with Hinojosa's live mix for anyone who has ever seen her -- instruments are perfectly balanced and the volume is kept at a minimum. That's accurate, but it seems that Chet Himes and Bill Johnson, who recorded this set, recorded it even warmer than it comes off live. There is something here that is not quite distant but doesn't quite capture the pure pastoral elegance and grace of Hinojosa at her best. The performances are fine, inspired even, but they just don't "sound" that way. It's too tidy even for Hinojosa, a bit too subdued for the joyousness of the occasion. That said, if you were only looking to have her finest -- and favorite -- material on one disc, this might be the one for you. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Tish Hinojosa

Product Info:

  • UPC: 011661322127
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item