Fear The Fear Record

The Fear Record
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  GDQ5
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: November 6, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: The End Records


  • 1.I Love Livin' In The City
  • 2.New York's Alright If You Like Saxophones
  • 3.I Don't Care About You
  • 4.Let's Have A War
  • 5.Gimme Some Action
  • 6.Foreign Policy
  • 7.Beef Boloney
  • 8.We Destroy The Family
  • 9.Camarillo
  • 10.Disconnected
  • 11.We Gotta Get Outa This Place
  • 12.Fresh Flesh
  • 13.Getting The Brush
  • 14.No More Nothing

Product Description:

Personnel: Lee Ving (vocals, guitar); David Stark (guitar); Andrew Jaimez (drums).
Audio Mixer: Bill Stevenson.
Recording information: Studio 606, Northridge, CA; The Compound, Los Angeles, CA.
Photographer: Cynthia Correll.
Lee Ving, the Philadelphia-raised lead singer and rhythm guitarist for pot-stirring Los Angeles punk rock outfit Fear has remained the group's sole original member since 1993. Like the Fall's Mark E. Smith, Ving spent the ensuing years rifling through a rotating cast of musicians and keeping Fear in the game, a tactic he used to great effect on 2012's The Fear Record, a straight-up re-recording of the band's iconic 1982 high-water mark, The Record. Equal parts middle finger to the black hole of album licensing and a straight-up cash grab, The Fear Record sounds surprisingly visceral, with Ving, who was 62 at the time of recording, forgoing the usual template of bringing the material up to date stylistically/lowering the songs' original keys to accommodate vocal cord purification, and simply reproducing the source material for the compression-obsessed MP3 age. In fact, the only real difference between the two, besides Ving's 40 gritty sandpaper howl, which to be fair was hardly like "buttah" to begin with, is the playlist order, which finds the still intoxicating "I Love Livin' in the City" swapping places with the still riveting "Let's Have a War," among other instances of punk rock musical chairs, proving once again that "I Don't Care About You" is just as apt a statement in 2012 as it was in 1982. ~ James Christopher Monger.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Fear

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 120,630
  • UPC: 654436021629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)