Rory Gallagher Kickback City (3-CD)

Kickback City (3-CD)
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
Sale: $26.98
SUPER SAVINGS: $25.50 Limited Time Only
List Price: $29.98
You Save: $4.48 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  38H9Y
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Eagle Rock Entertainment

Description by

2013 three CD set from the late Irish guitar hero. Kickback City is a unique release that features Rory both in the studio (Disc One) and live (Disc Two) plus a graphic novel titled The Lie Factory by Ian Ranklin illustrated by Timothy Truman. This is a special release that illustrates some of the common themes within Rory Gallagher's music. The third CD features The Lie Factory as read by actor Aidan Quinn.

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.104
4 stars out of 5 -- "A ripping marriage made in noir....The best sort of criminal record."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Kickback City
  • 2.Continental Op
  • 3.Kid Gloves
  • 4.Big Guns
  • 5.Loanshark Blues
  • 6.Secret Agent
  • 7.B Girl
  • 8.Slumming Angel
  • 9.Barley & Grape Rag
  • 10.Doing Time
  • 11.In Your Town
  • 12.Sinner Boy
  • 13.The Devil Made Me Do It
  • 14.Seven Days

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Continental Op (Live)
  • 2.Tattoo d Lady (Live)
  • 3.I Ain't No Saint (Live)
  • 4.Off The Handle (Live)
  • 5.The Loop (Live)
  • 6.Messin With The Kid (Live)
  • 7.Loneshark Blues (Live)

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.The Lie Factory - spoken word by Aidan Quinn

Product Description:

Recording information: Broadway Video.
Author: Ian Rankin.
Editor: Sue Pelino.
Illustrator: Timothy Truman.
Eighteen years after the death of Rory Gallagher, the incendiary Irish blues-rock guitarist and songwriter gets one of the most unusual tribute compilation packages in music history. Kickback City was conceived by Gallagher's brother D¢nal to celebrate the guitarist's lifelong love of hard-boiled noir fiction -- he often cited its themes and references in his songs. D¢nal recruited best-selling, award-winning crime novelist Ian Rankin (of the popular Inspector Rebus series) in a project that compiles studio and live performances by the guitarist that were directly inspired by the genre. To accompany the music, Rankin wrote a novella that liberally references Gallagher's titles and lyrics; entitled The Lie Factory, it too is enclosed. There is an audio reading of the novella by Aidan Quinn on a separate disc. The entire package was illustrated by Timothy Truman (DC Comics, the Grateful Dead, Santana, First Comics), a lifelong fan of the guitarist. [There is also a limited deluxe vinyl edition available from the artist's website.]

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Rory Gallagher

Product Info

  • UPC: 826992032726
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)