Norman Blake Blake & Rice

Blake & Rice
10% OFF
Rating 4.2
7 ratings
11 copies available
List Price: $17.98
Your Price: $16.18
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  ROUP 610233
on most orders of $75
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Rounder / Umgd


  • Buy for $0.991.New Chance Blues
  • Buy for $0.992.Green Light on the Southern
  • Buy for $0.993.I'm Not Sayin'
  • Buy for $0.994.Texas Gales
  • Buy for $0.995.Ridge Road Gravel
  • Buy for $0.996.Monroe's Hornpipe
  • Buy for $0.997.Last Train From Poor Valley
  • Buy for $0.998.New River Train
  • Buy for $0.999.Stoney Point
  • Buy for $0.9910.Gonna Lay Day My Old Guitar
  • Buy for $0.9911.Little Beggarman / Gilderoy
  • Buy for $0.9912.The Shipyard Apprentice
  • Buy for $0.9913.Fiddler's Dram / Whiskey Before Breakfast
  • Buy for $0.9914.I'm Comin' Back But I Don't Know When

Product Description:

Personnel: Norman Blake (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Tony Rice (vocals, guitar).
Like consummate musicians, for their first album together Norman Blake and Tony Rice largely ignored flash and speed in favor of songs and mood. There is some exceptional flatpicking here, but even the more manic passages are tempered by a softness that is striking, and perhaps even a little disappointing, in its modesty. Once the listener gets past the desire to hear hardcore chops, though, the album reveals its full beauty, especially in Blake's gorgeous "Last Train From Poor Valley" and Rice's cover of Gordon Lightfoot's "I'm Not Sayin'." Perky fiddle tune medleys and bluegrass standards provide some balance, but this is gentle listening throughout. ~ Jim Smith

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.2
Based on 7 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Norman Blake

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 126,529
  • UPC: 011661023321
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: