The Country Gentlemen The Early Rebel Recordings 1962-1971 (4-CD Box Set)

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.4
5 ratings
Only 7 copies left
List Price: $44.98
Your Price: $40.48
You Save: $4.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days

Add to Cart
Save for Later
Format: CD  (4 Discs)
Item:  RBL 114002

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: June 1, 1998
  • Label: Rebel Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Christmas Time Back Home
  • 2.Heavenward Bound
  • 3.I Am Weary (Let Me Rest)
  • 4.Sad and Lonesome Day
  • 5.The Bluebirds Are Singing
  • 6.The White Rose
  • 7.The Gentleman Is Blue
  • 8.Philadelphia Lawyer
  • 9.Spanish Two Step
  • 10.Bringing Mary Home
  • 11.Convict and the Rose, The - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.Banks of the Ohio
  • 13.Down Where the River Bends
  • 14.Battle Hymn of the Republic
  • 15.This World Is No Place to Live
  • 16.Uncle Joe - (previously unreleased)
  • 17.Northbound
  • 18.Let the Light Shine Down
  • 19.Girl From the North Country
  • 20.A Cold Wind A'Blowin
  • 21.Jingle Bells
  • 22.Silent Night
  • 23.We Three Kings
  • 24.Blue Bell
  • 25.It's All Over Now Baby Blue
  • 26.Matterhorn
  • 27.Dark as a Dungeon
  • 28.Big Bruce

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.When They Ring Those Golden Bells
  • 2.Buffalo Girls
  • 3.A Beautiful Life
  • 4.I'm Working on a Road
  • 5.A Border Affair
  • 6.Johnny Reb
  • 7.Many a Mile
  • 8.Amelia Earhart's Last Flight
  • 9.Lord, I'm Coming Home
  • 10.The Traveler
  • 11.Silver Bell - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.Theme From Exodus
  • 13.Love and Wealth - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.He Was a Friend of Mine
  • 15.Daybreak in Dixie
  • 16.Same Old Day
  • 17.Raggy Mountain Shakedown
  • 18.Banana Boat Song
  • 19.Going to the Races
  • 20.Waiting For the Boys to Come Home
  • 21.Darling Little Joe
  • 22.El Dedo
  • 23.I'll Be There Mary Dear
  • 24.Blue Ridge Cabin Home
  • 25.Take Me in a Lifeboat
  • 26.The Sentence
  • 27.Where I'm Bound

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.To the Rescue
  • 2.Rodger Young
  • 3.Green Green Grass of Home
  • 4.Along the Way
  • 5.Let's
  • 6.Rambling Boy
  • 7.Gentlemen's Concerto
  • 8.Take Me Back to the Valley
  • 9.Fare-Thee-Well Cisco
  • 10.Preaching, Praying, Singing
  • 11.Mrs. Robinson
  • 12.Two Little Boys
  • 13.Doin' My Time
  • 14.Rank Strangers to Me
  • 15.Heaven - (previously unreleased)
  • 16.Gone Home
  • 17.Rank Strangers to Me
  • 18.I'm Using My Bible For a Roadmap
  • 19.Over the Hills to the Poorhouse
  • 20.Little White Church
  • 21.Heaven
  • 22.Bill Bailey
  • 23.He Will Set Your Fields on Fire
  • 24.Are You Washed in the Blood?
  • 25.One Wide River
  • 26.On the Sunny Side of Life
  • 27.Born Again
  • 28.I'll Break Out Again

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Less of Me
  • 2.I Am a Pilgrim
  • 3.Weapon of Prayer
  • 4.If I Were Free
  • 5.Teach Your Children
  • 6.Fox on the Run
  • 7.Johnny and Jack Medley
  • 8.I'd Rather Live by the Side of the Road
  • 9.These Men of God
  • 10.Cowboys and Indians
  • 11.Sea of Heartbreak
  • 12.Orange Blossom Mandolin
  • 13.Yesterday
  • 14.The Girl Behind the Bar
  • 15.The Son of Hickory Holler's Tramp
  • 16.Country Roads
  • 17.Redwood Hill
  • 18.Secret of the Waterfall
  • 19.Walkin' Down the Line
  • 20.Breakin' It Down
  • 21.New Freedom Bell
  • 22.The Old Pine Tree
  • 23.The Legend of the Rebel Soldier
  • 24.C.G. Express
  • 25.Little Bessie
  • 26.Fields Have Turned Brown
  • 27.Get in Line Buddy

Product Description:

This is an especially pleasing four-CD set, comprising most of the Country Gentlemen's recordings for the Rebel label over a period of nine years, when they used bluegrass music as a vehicle for innovation by way of country, folk, and rock. The influence of the Osborne Brothers can be heard throughout their early work (along with more mainstream country sources), but then they start cutting Dylan and Tom Paxton songs. The odd early individual tracks lead into the contents of the Bringing Mary Home album, which established their reputation nationally as a bluegrass act to be reckoned with. Disc One ends with the controversial "Big Bruce," a gay parody of Jimmy Dean's "Big Bad John" that skirts a fine line between satire, burlesque, and slur. Disc Two features several previously unissued songs, and also shows the group growing artistically amid a flurry of concert activity -- a surprising number of songs from this period were cut on the fly at semi-pro and improvised studios, as the band fit recording in anywhere they could. Disc Three picks up in 1969 -- the group by this time was freely adapting popular as well as folk tunes, thus the presence of "Mrs. Robinson" amid the bluegrass standards. By Disc Four, the group was nearing a summit of popularity and creativity. The irony was that, even as they were achieving success, the group was nearing a decision to leave Rebel. This collection isn't quite ideal, since it is missing a key mid-'60s live recording; the booklet and annotation are very thorough, as is the session information, all of it pitched at the Bear Family level. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.4
Based on 5 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Country Gentlemen

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 101,249
  • UPC: 032511400222
  • Shipping Weight: 1.77/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items