Fats Domino The Imperial Singles, Volume 4: 1959-1961

The Imperial Singles, Volume 4: 1959-1961
2 ratings
Only 6 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $12.35 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.64 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  G4AW
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: May 30, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Ace Records Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.93
3 stars out of 5 -- "[H]is innate ability to convey similar basic emotions was not lost when performing more contrived material."


  • 1.I'm Ready
  • 2.Margie
  • 3.I Want to Walk You Home
  • 4.I'm Gonna Be a Wheel Some Day
  • 5.Be My Guest
  • 6.I've Been Around
  • 7.Country Boy
  • 8.If You Need Me
  • 9.Tell Me That You Love Me
  • 10.Before I Grow Too Old
  • 11.Walking to New Orleans
  • 12.Don't Come Knockin'
  • 13.Three Nights a Week
  • 14.Put Your Arms Around Me Honey
  • 15.My Girl Josephine
  • 16.Natural Born Lover
  • 17.Ain't That Just Like a Woman
  • 18.What a Price
  • 19.Shu-Rah
  • 20.Fell in Love On Monday
  • 21.It Keeps Rainin'
  • 22.I Just Cry
  • 23.Let the Four Winds Blow
  • 24.Good Hearted Man
  • 25.What a Party
  • 26.Rockin' Bicycle

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: John Broven.
Illustrators: John Broven; Victor Pearlin; Brian Nevill.
Both sides of 13 singles, sequenced in chronological order, that Fats Domino issued between 1959 and 1961 are presented on the fourth volume of Ace's extensive series documenting the 45s he did in his prime for the Imperial label. This turn-of-the-decade period is sometimes thought of as one in which Domino's commercial and artistic success was on the decline, if only slightly, with his New Orleans R&B/rock getting more mainstream, especially on sides that used strings and backup vocals. There's some truth to that, but almost any other artist would be proud to call this a greatest-hits collection. All but two of these tracks (even including the B-sides) made the Top 100, after all, and eight of them were Top 20 hits that mostly remain familiar to this day, including "I'm Ready," "I Want to Walk You Home," "I'm Gonna Be a Wheel Some Day," "Be My Guest," "Walking to New Orleans," "My Girl Josephine," and "Let the Four Winds Blow." Those still tend to be the most memorable of the songs collected here, but the largely Domino-Dave Bartholomew-written numbers usually maintain a reasonably high standard, whether they're in Fats' trademark easygoing rock & roll vein or whether they're more lushly produced ballads. Some listeners might appreciate more variety when hearing all of this at once. But certainly Fats fans will like having his singles from this era so thoughtfully anthologized, both for the most outstanding classics and the better relatively overlooked tunes, like the smoky slow bluesy "If You Need Me" and the jubilant update of the Tin Pan Alley standard "Put Your Arms Around Me Honey." ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Fats Domino

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 129,797
  • UPC: 029667045728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)