Mike Auldridge Blue Lonesome Wind

Blue Lonesome Wind
2 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  G4AR
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Rebel Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Blue Lonesome Wind
  • Buy for $0.992.Satisfied To Stay
  • Buy for $0.993.My Aching Heart
  • Buy for $0.994.Welcome To New York
  • Buy for $0.995.City Of Lost Souls
  • Buy for $0.996.Too Many Tears
  • Buy for $0.997.New Sweet Home
  • Buy for $0.998.Are You Lost In Sin
  • Buy for $0.999.Sweet Prairie Hay
  • Buy for $0.9910.Dog Pause
  • Buy for $0.9911.It Won't Be Long
  • Buy for $0.9912.Home Sweet Home Revisited
  • Buy for $0.9913.Rigel Stomp
  • Buy for $0.9914.Come Back Home

Product Description:

Personnel: Mike Auldridge (vocals, resophonic guitar); Richard Bennett (vocals, acoustic guitar); Jimmy Gaudreau (vocals, mandolin); Kip Martin (bass).
Producers: Mike Auldridge, Richard Bennett, Jimmy Gaudreau.
Recorded at Patuxent Studio, Rockville, Maryland. Includes liner notes by Burgess Hurd.
Personnel: Mike Auldridge (vocals, baritone, resonator guitar); Jimmy Gaudreau (vocals, tenor, mandolin); Richard Bennett (vocals, acoustic guitar).
Liner Note Author: Bugess Hurd.
Recording information: Patuxent Studio, Rockville, MD.
Photographer: Charles Tompkins.
Many progressive bluegrass musicians perform in a number of settings with a variety of players. Like jazz players, their commitment has more to do with making quality music than preserving one band. Dobroist Mike Auldridge, guitarist Richard Bennett, and mandolinist Jimmy Gaudreau are no exception. When they joined forces for This Old Town in 2000, no one could be sure they would record together again. In 2001 they returned with the lovely Blue Lonesome Wind. Bennett lends his expressive voice to the title track and to the self-penned "Satisfied to Stay," an upbeat piece featuring some superb group harmony. Bennett also continues to be one of the best guitar players in the Tony Rice mold. His picking on "New Sweet Home" and "Dog Pause" will, as the saying goes, knock your hat in the creek. Other instrumentals like "Welcome to New York" give everyone lots of room to show off their instrumental prowess. Auldridge captures the romantic flavor of the piece, laying down the quality work that always gave the Seldom Scene such a distinctive sound. Gaudreau's mandolin likewise captures all the right nuances. He's always present with the right lick, whether kicking off a piece like "Too Many Tears" or playing rhythm behind his comrades. Complaints? None really. It may confuse some that this band can vacillate between jazz-grass and bluegrass as opposed to sticking to one style, but it shouldn't. This contemporary bluegrass band succeeds where so many fail; they never allow smooth arrangements or stale material to straightjacket their music. Blue Lonesome Wind is a nice piece of work, guaranteed to create expectations for another album. ~ Ronnie D. Lankford, Jr.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Mike Auldridge

Product Info

  • UPC: 032511176820
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)