The Essential (2-CD)

The Essential (2-CD)
Only 8 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $14.46 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $2.52 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  X8SD
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 30, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.It's No Secret
  • 2.Somebody To Love
  • 3.White Rabbit
  • 4.Embryonic Journey
  • 5.Plastic Fantastic Lover
  • 6.Comin' Back To Me
  • 7.The Ballad Of You And Me And Pooneil
  • 8.Greasy Heart
  • 9.Lather
  • 10.Crown Of Creation
  • 11.Wooden Ships
  • 12.Volunteers
  • 13.Good Shepherd
  • 14.Have You Seen The Saucers
  • 15.Pretty As You Feel
  • 16.Third Week In The Chelsea
  • 17.Long John Silver
  • 18.Caroline
  • 19.Ride The Tiger

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Miracles
  • 2.With Your Love
  • 3.Count On Me
  • 4.Runaway
  • 5.Jane
  • 6.Find Your Way Back
  • 7.Stranger
  • 8.Be My Lady
  • 9.No Way Out
  • 10.Layin' It On The Line
  • 11.We Built This City
  • 12.Sara
  • 13.Tomorrow Doesn't Matter Tonight
  • 14.Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now
  • 15.It's Not Over (Til It's Over)
  • 16.It's Not Enough

Product Description:

Photographers: Robert Altman; George Rose .
The seminal San Francisco psychedelic band in the heyday of such things, Jefferson Airplane were sassy, political, and generally engaging. The band then morphed into Jefferson Starship, which was a whole other thing, a more polished band aiming at the pop charts. Eventually Jefferson Starship became just Starship, although the sound stayed aimed at the charts. This two-disc set combines the best tracks from all of these incarnations, which is a good thing if one is a fan of all of the approaches here, but not such a good thing if, like many, one prefers one version of the band to the other two. Either way, it's nice to have a survey of the Jefferson family tree in one spot, and songs (no matter which version of this outfit did them) like "Somebody to Love," "White Rabbit," "Volunteers," "Ride the Tiger," the beautiful "Miracles," "Count on Me," and the love-it-then-hate-it-sometimes "We Built This City" (it's a matter of where you are when you hear it) are all staples on rock oldies stations and they deserve to be. So there's a lot of good stuff here, even if it sounds like it's from three different bands -- it's how the story went. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Jefferson Airplane

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 23,048
  • UPC: 887254914327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)