Marcia Griffiths Marcia & Friends (2-CD)

Marcia & Friends (2-CD)
Price: $22.49
List Price: $24.99
You Save: $2.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  X8S6
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 30, 2012
  • Label: VP Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Keeping It Real - (featuring Busy Signal)
  • 2.I See Love - (featuring Buju Banton)
  • 3.Desperate Lover - (featuring Gentleman)
  • 4.Love Is A Treasure [Remix] - (remix, featuring Esco Levi)
  • 5.Childish Games - (featuring Buju Banton)
  • 6.Dearest - (featuring Sanchez)
  • 7.Just You And Me - (featuring Peetah Morgan)
  • 8.Sense Of Purpose - (featuring Bunny Rugs)
  • 9.Knew You Were Waiting For Me - (featuring Duane Stephenson)
  • 10.When The Lights Are Low - (featuring John Holt)
  • 11.It's Not Too Late - (featuring Beres Hammond)
  • 12.If You Give Me Your Heart - (featuring Freddie McGregor)
  • 13.Round And Round - (featuring Queen Ifrica)
  • 14.My Number One - (featuring Gregory Isaacs)
  • 15.Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now - (featuring Da'Ville)
  • 16.Riddim Affi Roll
  • 17.Oh No Not My Baby - (featuring Zumjay)
  • 18.Loving Jah - (featuring Tony Rebel)
  • 19.Want Love - (featuring Tanya Stephens)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Stand By Your Man - (featuring Assassin)
  • 2.If Only You Knew - (featuring Mikey Spice)
  • 3.All Of My Life - (featuring Da'Ville)
  • 4.Undying Love - (featuring Anthony B)
  • 5.True, A - (featuring Richie Stephens)
  • 6.Woman - (featuring Lady G)
  • 7.Check It Out - (featuring Cutty Ranks / Tony Rebel / Buju Banton)
  • 8.Half Idiot - (featuring Cutty Ranks)
  • 9.Things Not So Right - (featuring Tony Rebel)
  • 10.Live On - (featuring Beres Hammond)
  • 11.Closer - (featuring Buju Banton)
  • 12.Really Together - (featuring Bunny Rugs)
  • 13.Give Me Your Loving - (featuring Cutty Ranks)
  • 14.It's Not Funny - (featuring Bunny Rugs)
  • 15.Special Gift - (featuring Lieutenant Stitchie)
  • 16.Ebony & Ivory
  • 17.Stepping Out Of Babylon - (featuring Cobra / Tony Rebel / Beenie Man / Buju Banton)
  • 18.What About That
  • 19.Ready To Go - (featuring Tony Rebel)

Product Description:

In a decades-long career, Marcia Griffiths has become one of the best-known female reggae artists of all time, scoring hit after hit in a wide range of styles. Griffiths has covered dancehall, doo wop, rocksteady, and a variety of other subgenres of reggae over the years, and part of her versatile nature has always been how open she's been to collaboration and working with guests. Marcia Griffiths and Friends is an almost overwhelming testament to that fact, with 38 duets culled from her enormous discography and featuring a who's who of Jamaican music. Highlights are plentiful, and the songs are all over the spectrum. Griffiths' work with iconic reggae hall-of-famers is some of the most exciting material here, including duets with John Holt, Beres Hammond, and the gorgeous digital rocksteady groove of "Number One" featuring Gregory Isaacs. Dancehall stars like Cutty Ranks, Annette Brissett, Assassin, and Beenie Man make appearances on some of the more fired-up tracks. Buju Banton shows up on no less than five tracks, adding his gruff dancehall character in contrast to Griffiths' smooth and reflective vocals. Busy Signal guests on the inspired "Automatic," a slice of slinky soul-reggae that shows the artists complementing one another's disparate styles with seamless fluidity. Clocking in at well over two hours, this collection is a lot to digest in one sitting, and it's not without a few duds here and there. Half-hearted stabs at '80s soundtrack pop singles like "Knew You Were Waiting for Me" and "Nothing's Gonna Stop Us Now" sound especially hollow and plastic compared to her burning versions of soul tracks like "Oh No Not My Baby" and the more party-starting dancehall tracks. Her duet with Bob Andy on Stevie Wonder's "Ebony & Ivory" sounds especially dated and saccharine as well. Marcia Griffiths and Friends is also absent of any of her late-'60s and early-'70s material, focusing on the higher-fidelity production and more R&B-tinged later recordings. Fans of contemporary reggae will find much to love in this weighty collection, but those enamored with Griffiths' stormier early work might miss the moody production and more organic rhythm tracks. Despite that, the collection is brimming over with more than enough strong selections to make it worthwhile to even the casual reggae fan. ~ Fred Thomas

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Marcia Griffiths

Product Info

  • UPC: 054645183420
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)