Patsy Cline True Love: A Standards Collection

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.5
6 ratings
List Price: $5.98
You Save: 60¢ (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  UBG 2249

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: MCA Nashville


  • 1.True Love
  • 2.You Belong To Me
  • 3.You Were Only Fooling (While I Was Falling In Love)
  • 4.That's My Desire
  • 5.Heartaches
  • 6.Love Letters In The Sand
  • 7.Someday (You'll Want Me To Want You)
  • 8.Have You Ever Been Lonely (Have You Ever Been Blue)
  • 9.I Love You So Much It Hurts
  • 10.You Made Me Love You (I Didn't Want To Do It)
  • 11.Does Your Heart Beat For Me
  • 12.Anytime
  • 13.Bill Bailey, Won't You Please Come Home?
  • 14.Always

Product Description:

Producer: Owen Bradley.
Compilation producers: Joseph F. Laredo, Andy McKaie.
Recorded at Bradley Film & Recording Studios, Nashville, Tennessee between 1961 & 1963. Includes liner notes by Joseph F. Laredo.
Digitally remastered by Doug Schwartz (Audio Mechanics, Burbank, California).
Recording information: Bradley Film (08/17/1961-02/06/1963); Recording Studio, Nashville, TN (08/17/1961-02/06/1963).
Photographer: Jason Pastori.
TRUE LOVE is a nicely assembled selection of tracks that originally appeared on Cline's albums between 1961 and 1963. Actually, the word "standards" is a little misleading, as there's no Gershwin, Johnny Mercer, Rogers and Hart, or Jerome Kern to be found here (although there are two lesser songs by Cole Porter and Irving Berlin). It's more accurate to say that this is a collection of (occasionally cornball) oldies, harmonically and structurally similar to country songs, that Cline's producer Owen Bradley had her sing in an early attempt at pop crossover. That said, Cline doesn't try to sing them as pop. Her phrasing and intonation remain as distinctively country as ever. Standouts include Berlin's "Always," which Cline tears into with genuine passion, and a smoldering version of "Bill Bailey Won't You Please Come Home" which abruptly starts to swing at the halfway mark.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 6 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Patsy Cline

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 38,350
  • UPC: 008811224929
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Country & Bluegrass genre: