Willie Nelson Countryman

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 3.7
62 ratings
List Price: $10.98
You Save: $1.10 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  LHWY 820552

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Lost Highway

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.100
3 stars out of 5 - "[T]he universal themes of tough love, outlaw tales and spiritual devotion seem drawn across parallel lines....It's remarkably good."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.102
3 stars out of 5 - "[A]n affable affair, with Willie providing his nasal, agreeable, home-on-the-strange vocals while steel guitar and violins merge with reggae riddims to the rear."


  • 1.Do You Mind Too Much If I Don't Understand
  • 2.How Long Is Forever
  • 3.I'm a Worried Man
  • 4.The Harder They Come
  • 5.Something to Think About
  • 6.Sitting in Limbo
  • 7.Darkness on the Face of the Earth
  • 8.One in a Row
  • 9.I've Just Destroyed the World (I'm Living In)
  • 10.You Left Me a Long, Long Time Ago
  • 11.I Guess I've Come to Live Here in Your Eyes
  • 12.Undo the Right

Product Description:

Personnel: Willie Nelson (vocals, guitar); Pam Hall, Sir Harry Bowens, Sweet Pea Atkinson, Donald Ray Mitchell (vocals, background vocals); Toots Hibbert (vocals); Mikey Hyde (keyboards); Paul "Pablo" Stennett (bass guitar); Uziah "Sticky" Thompson (percussion); Lieba Thomas (background vocals); Dan Bosworth, Randy Jacobs, Richard Feldman, Wayne Jobson (guitar); Robby Turner (steel guitar, dobro); Mickey Raphael (harmonica); Stephen Stewart, Norris Webb (keyboards); Santa Davis (drums).
Audio Mixers: Richard Feldman; Tom Weir.
Recording information: Ocean Way Studios, Hollywood, CA (1995-2004); Record One, Los Angeles, CA (1995-2004); Studio Of The Legends, Jamaica (1995-2004).
Photographer: Jim Herrington.
Willie Nelson and reggae might seem at first to be an unlikely match.
Upon further thought, though, Nelson's laid-back sensibility, subtle
rhythmic lilt, and stoner image make his reggae album, COUNTRYMAN, seem in retrospect like an inevitability. Instead of adding his distinctive jazzy drawl and ragged guitar to a batch of reggae classics, though, Willie mostly keeps it country amid the Kingston grooves, delivering many of his own songs, as well a couple by Johnny Cash and reggae giant Jimmy Cliff.
Produced by Don Was, these tracks mostly feature L.A. session musicians doing a credible approximation of early-'70s Cliff/Toots & the
Maytals-style roots reggae, while Willie remains unflappable atop the
rhythmic change-up of the arrangements. These sessions actually sat in the can for about eight years before finally seeing the light of day, but anyone who ever wondered what bleak, ruminative Nelson chestnuts
such as "Darkness on the Face of the Earth" and "I've Just Destroyed
the World" would sound like with the added emotional contrast of a
bouncy reggae beat were finally sated with COUNTRYMAN's 2005 release.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.7
Based on 62 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Willie Nelson

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 52,729
  • UPC: 602498820551
  • Shipping Weight: 0.14/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: