Flatt & Scruggs at Carnegie Hall! [The Complete Concert] (Live)

Flatt & Scruggs at Carnegie Hall! [The Complete
14 ratings
Price: $16.18
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  X8YH
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1998
  • Label: Koch Records


  • 1.Salty Dog Blues
  • 2.Durham's Reel
  • 3.Down the Road
  • 4.Rainbow
  • 5.Big Ball in Brooklyn
  • 6.Flint Hill Special
  • 7.Dig a Hole in the Meadow
  • 8.I Hung My Head and Cried
  • 9.Hot Corn, Cold Corn
  • 10.Little Darlin' Pal of Mine
  • 11.You Can't Stop Me from Dreaming
  • 12.Footprints in the Snow
  • 13.The Martha White Theme
  • 14.I Wonder Where You Are Tonight
  • 15.Old MacDonald Had a Farm
  • 16.He Will Set Your Fields on Fire
  • 17.Let the Church Roll On
  • 18.Wildwood Flower
  • 19.Hear That Whistle Blow (A Hundred Miles)
  • 20.Fiddle and Banjo
  • 21.Old Leather Britches
  • 22.Ballad of Jed Clampett
  • 23.Yonder Stands Little Maggie
  • 24.Reuben
  • 25.Mama Blues
  • 26.I Know What It Means to Be Lonesome
  • 27.Foggy Mountain Rock
  • 28.Take This Hammer
  • 29.McKinley's Gone
  • 30.Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms
  • 31.Gotta Travel On
  • 32.Mountain Dew

Product Description:

Koch's reissue of AT CARNEGIE HALL! restores all 32 cuts from the original 1962 two-LP release.
Flatt & Scruggs: Lester Flatt (guitar); Earl Scruggs (banjo).
Additional personnel: Burkett H. "Buck" Graves, Billy E. Powers (guitar); Paul Warren (violin); English P. Tullock, Jr. (bass).
Producers: Don Law, Frank Jones.
Reissue producer: Dave Nives.
Recorded live at Carnegie Hall, New York, New York on December 8, 1962. Originally released on Columbia (8845).
Recording information: Carnegie Hall, New York, NY (12/08/1962).
Lester Flatt and Earl Scruggs were big news at the height of the late '50s/early '60s folk revival. New York City was essentially ground zero for a mania that extended to all things musical and Southern. So something of a love-fest occurred when Flatt and Scruggs and their polished bluegrass band rolled into town on one December night in 1962 to play no less a venue than Carnegie Hall.
There are screams from the crowd for "Martha White" (the theme song from the band's radio sponsor), and Scruggs has no choice but to encore the banjo showpiece "Flint Hill Special." To know what the Foggy Mountain Boys sounded like in their natural habitat, you'd have to go to transcripts of the band playing a school auditorium or radio hour somewhere south of the Jersey Turnpike. CARNEGIE HALL still gives you a taste of how Flatt and Scruggs put together a show before their original band disintegrated under the weight of the revival itself. As you might expect from a live recording of this era, the sound favors the top end. Vocals, fiddle, and banjo breaks come through best, especially as the band performs with only two microphones among its six performers.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 14 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Flatt & Scruggs

Product Info

  • UPC: 099923792925
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)