Beth Hart Leave the Light On

Leave the Light On
70 ratings
16 copies available
Price: $11.68
List Price: $12.98
You Save: $1.30 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  Q8V4
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Koch Records


  • Buy for $0.991.Lifts You Up
  • Buy for $0.992.Leave the Light On
  • Buy for $0.993.Bottle of Jesus
  • Buy for $0.994.World Without You
  • Buy for $0.995.Lay Your Hands on Me
  • Buy for $0.996.Broken & Ugly
  • Buy for $0.997.Lifetime
  • Buy for $0.998.If God Only Knew
  • Buy for $0.999.Monkey Back
  • Buy for $0.9910.Sky Full of Clover
  • Buy for $0.9911.I'll Stay With You

Product Description:

Personnel: Beth Hart (vocals, piano); Beth Hart; Mike Bradford (guitar, electric piano, keyboards, bass guitar); Danny Saber (guitar, bass guitar, programming); Jon Nichols (guitar); Greg Leisz (pedal steel guitar); Dan Higgins, Dan Higgens (horns); Chris Smith (Hammond b-3 organ); Albert Molinaro, Tom Lilly (bass guitar); Bernie Pershey, Bernie Hershey (drums, congas); Kevin Cloud, Scott Miracle, Russ Kunkel (drums); Oliver Leiber, Kip Packard (guitar); Jerry Hey (horns); Richard Baker, Jimmie Bones (organ); David Gamson (keyboards, programming); Patrick Warren (keyboards); Sergio Gonz lez, Rev. Brady Blade, David Raven (drums).
Audio Mixers: Mike Bradford; Danny Saber; David Gamson; Eric "ET" Thorngren.
Recording information: Chunky Style Studios; Henson Studios; Larabee Studios; Mar Vista Studios; Ocean Entertainment; 'Ollywood Studios; Stagg St. Studios; Stebbing Recording Centre, New Zealand; Studio City Sound.
Photographer: Greg Waterman.
Welcome to the sounds and poetry of recovery and redemption. On Beth Hart's third album in six years, the singer/songwriter has taken her already lean, rootsy approach to writing, scaled it back to skillfully reflect what is essential in a song, and then, as is her trademark, poured the very grain of her being into each performance. On Leave the Light On, Hart speaks through unapologetically classic, mainstream rock music so gritty, edgy, and true (informed by the gospels according to the Rolling Stones, the Faces, and Janis Joplin), it's virtually unlike anything out there at the moment -- the White Stripes not withstanding. "Lifts You Up," the opener, uses one of the finest anthemic R-A-W-K hooks in a chorus since Delaney & Bonnie, employing muddy ringing buzzsaw guitars, upright piano, bass, drums, and hand percussion to celebrate the notion of life on life's terms: "It lifts you up it puts you down/Then it feeds you life, then it lets you drown/While it holds your heart then it slowly tears you/And you know life is what I mean." The title track is the first real power ballad of the new century. It is the most searing cut on the set. Virtually every word is loaded with dark confession and emotion, but unlike some of her peers who also explore the sewers and gutters of human ruination and soul death, Hart is far from content to remain there. Buoyed by her own piano, assorted keyboards emulating strings, Greg Leisz's pedals, strummed guitars, and a rhythm section, Hart's words seek the edges of the cage and bust forth, counting on the possibility of change inherent in every moment. The lyrics, centered around the fear of being alone after a life of pain -- absorbed and meted out -- are scalding in their indomitable hope.
These two tracks become the first turns of the wheel of pop culture dharma -- rock & roll is the means to convey the fact that these small truths have become self-evident: that a woman can survive, sometimes in spite of her best efforts. Where more "contemporary" architectures are used, on "Lay Your Hands on Me" with its drum loops, "World Without You" with its beautifully textured keyboards, or the stunning acoustic piano majesty of "Lifetime" backed by a whispering Hammond organ, the effect is the same. Songs that take no prisoners, such as "Bottle of Jesus" or "Broken & Ugly," with fierce melodies and burning guitar crunchiness, are welcome alternatives to the tuneless radio drivel of Limp Bizkit or Korn. Ultimately, Leave the Light On is indeed Hart's crowning achievement thus far. Not many can string three fine albums together, let alone make each better than the last. This too is part of a rock & roll heritage that Hart, one suspects, is proudly a part of: the process of artistic growth realized over time, one that seeks the long road rather than short gain. Ultimately, as Beth Hart continues to allow her muse to inform and transform the ashes of her past, the listener benefits mightily from her journey. No matter what happens commercially or critically, this album will sound necessary and vital a decade from now. Classic rock indeed. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 70 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Beth Hart

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 93,560
  • UPC: 099923824121
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)