Mika The Origin of Love [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)

The Origin of Love [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD)
Price: $12.67
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.31 (9% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  EWAW
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 16, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Republic

Entertainment Reviews:

Billboard (p.44) - "[Mika is] convincing in gentler sonic terrain like 'Underwater,' which gives the album a winning breadth and emotional heft."
Q (Magazine) - p.99
4 stars out of 5 -- "[With] sleeker, more economical songs whose astringency sharpens their sweetness. The result is persuasive, likeable grown-up pop..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Origin Of Love
  • 2.Lola
  • 3.Stardust
  • 4.Make You Happy
  • 5.Underwater
  • 6.Overrated
  • 7.Kids
  • 8.Love You When I'm Drunk
  • 9.Step With Me
  • 10.Popular Song
  • 11.Emily
  • 12.Heroes
  • 13.Celebrate
  • 14.Make You Happy [Miami Edit]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Celebrate [Acoustic Version]
  • 2.Origin Of Love [Acoustic Version]
  • 3.Kids [Acoustic Version]
  • 4.Love You When I'm Drunk [Acoustic Version]
  • 5.Overrated [Acoustic Version]
  • 6.Elle Me Dit
  • 7.Tah Dah
  • 8.Stardust [Benny Benassi Mix]
  • 9.Celebrate [Robbie Rivera Remix]

Product Description:

Recording information: Abbey Road Studios, London; Air Studios, London; Avatar, New York; Metropolis Studios, London; Miloco Studios; Miloco The Square, London; MSR, New York; Planet Studios, Montreal; Rocket Carousel Studios; Setai Recording Studio, Miami; World's End Studios.
Illustrator: Yasmine Penniman.
Photographer: Matthew Donaldson.
Mika has flirted with dance music and electronic sounds since Life in Cartoon Motion, but on The Origin of Love he commits to it in a much bigger way. This time, Mika worked with dance and pop producers such as Benny Benassi, Pharrell Williams, Klas ?hlund, and Empire of the Sun's Nick Littlemore, as well as his The Boy Who Knew Too Much collaborator Greg Wells, and a song from the album's writing sessions, "Gang Bang," even ended up on Madonna's MDNA album. Despite the album's dancefloor excursions like the pounding Benassi collaboration "Stardust," The Origin of Love fares better when it sticks closer to Mika's pure pop roots. "Celebrate," the Littlemore-Williams collaboration that served as the album's lead single and hinted at its electro leanings, is still a standout: it fuses the kind of slick beats Williams is known for with Littlemore's euphoric post-Daft Punk dance-pop and keeps Mika's sound and persona at the forefront at all times. The album's other highlights show that he's still a keen and witty singer/songwriter, especially when it comes to love's more confusing aspects. He has a darker attitude toward the subject than perhaps he's had before, comparing love to vices like smoking and drinking on the title track and the Buggles-esque new wave of "Love You When I'm Drunk." His character sketches are still sharp too, with "Lola," "Emily," and "Popular Song" showcasing his knack for pairing detailed lyrics with ingratiating hooks. ~ Heather Phares

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Mika

Product Info

  • UPC: 602537151516
  • Shipping Weight: 0.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)