Bill Monroe All the Classic Releases 1937-1949 (4-CD Box Set)

All the Classic Releases 1937-1949 (4-CD Box Set)
3 ratings
Sale: $26.09
SUPER SAVINGS: $24.26 Limited Time Only
List Price: $28.99
You Save: $4.73 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  Q8J3
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: June 9, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Jsp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.My Long Journey Home
  • 2.What Is Home Without Love
  • 3.What Would You Give in Exchange
  • 4.Little Red Shoes
  • 5.Nine Pound Hammer
  • 6.On Some Foggy Mountain Top
  • 7.Drifting Too Far from the Shore
  • 8.In My Dear Old Southern Home
  • 9.New River Train
  • 10.This World Is Not My Home
  • 11.Watermelon Hanging on the Vine
  • 12.On the Banks of the Ohio
  • 13.Do You Call That Religion?
  • 14.God Holds the Future in His Hands
  • 15.You've Got to Walk That Lonesome Valley
  • 16.Six Months Ain't Long
  • 17.Just a Song of Old Kentucky
  • 18.Don't Forget Me
  • 19.I'm Going
  • 20.Darling Corey
  • 21.My Savior's Train
  • 22.I Am Thinking Tonight of the Old Folks
  • 23.Dreamed I Searched Heaven for You
  • 24.The Old Cross Road
  • 25.The Forgotton Soldier Boy
  • 26.We Read of a Place That's Called Heaven
  • 27.Will the Circle Be Unbroken
  • 28.The Saints Go Marching In
  • 29.Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms
  • 30.Where Is My Sailor Boy?

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Am I Ready to Go
  • 2.What Would the Profit Be
  • 3.Some Glad Day
  • 4.I Have Found the Way
  • 5.I Am Going That Way
  • 6.Kate Cline
  • 7.Roll on Buddy, Roll On
  • 8.Weeping Willow Tree
  • 9.I'll Live On
  • 10.Oh, Hide You in the Blood
  • 11.What Would You Give in Exchange, Pt. 2
  • 12.On That Gospel Ship
  • 13.What Would You Give in Exchange, Pt. 3
  • 14.Let Us Be Lovers Again
  • 15.All the Good Times Are Passed and Gone
  • 16.What Would You Give in Exchange, Pt. 4
  • 17.On My Way to Glory
  • 18.My Last Moving Day
  • 19.He Will Set Your Fields on Fire
  • 20.Sinner You Better Get Ready
  • 21.Have a Feast Here Tonight
  • 22.Goodbye Maggie
  • 23.Rollin' On
  • 24.The Old Man's Story
  • 25.I've Still Got Ninety-Nine
  • 26.Little Joe
  • 27.A Beautiful Life
  • 28.Pearly Gates
  • 29.On My Way Back Home
  • 30.When Our Lord Shall Come Again

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Mule Skinner Blues
  • 2.No Letter in the Mail
  • 3.Cryin' Holy Unto the Lord
  • 4.Six White Horses
  • 5.Dog House Blues
  • 6.I Wonder If You Feel the Way I Do
  • 7.Katy Hill
  • 8.Tennessee Blues
  • 9.Shake My Mother's Hand for Me
  • 10.Were You There When They Crucified My Lord
  • 11.Anniversary Blue Yodel
  • 12.The Coupon Song
  • 13.Orange Blossom Special
  • 14.Honky Tonk Swing
  • 15.In the Pines
  • 16.Back Up and Push
  • 17.Rocky Road Blues
  • 18.Kentucky Waltz
  • 19.True Life Blues
  • 20.Goodbye Old Pal
  • 21.Footprints in the Snow
  • 22.Blue Grass Special
  • 23.Heavy Traffic Ahead
  • 24.Blue Moon of Kentucky
  • 25.Toy Heart

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Summertime Is Past and Gone
  • 2.Mansions for Me
  • 3.Mother's Only Sleeping
  • 4.California Blues
  • 5.Will You Be Loving Another Man?
  • 6.How Will I Explain About You?
  • 7.Wicked Path of Sin
  • 8.I'm Going Back to Old Kentucky
  • 9.It's Mighty Dark to Travel
  • 10.I Hear a Sweet Voice Calling
  • 11.Little Cabin on the Hill
  • 12.My Rose of Old Kentucky
  • 13.Bluegrass Breakdown
  • 14.Sweetheart You Done Me Wrong
  • 15.The Old Cross Road
  • 16.That Home Above
  • 17.Remember the Cross
  • 18.Little Community Church
  • 19.Along About Daybreak
  • 20.When You Are Lonely
  • 21.Molly and Tenbrooks
  • 22.Shine Hallelujah, Shine
  • 23.I'm Travelin' on and On
  • 24.Can't You Hear Me Callin'
  • 25.Travelin' This Lonesome Road
  • 26.Blue Grass Stomp
  • 27.The Girl in the Blue Velvet Band

Product Description:

& His Bluegrass Boys.
Personnel: Bill Monroe (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Clyde Moody (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Tex Willis, Lester Flatt, Mac Wiseman, Charlie Monroe (vocals, guitar); Earl Scruggs (vocals, banjo); Tommy Magness (vocals, fiddle); Bill Wesbrooks, Birch Monroe (vocals); David Akeman, Rudy Lyle (banjo); Robert Chubby Wise (fiddle); Wilene Forrester (accordion).
Liner Note Author: Drew Kent.
Recording information: 02/17/1936-10/22/1949.
Arranger: Lane.
Another great JSP boxed set of archival music at a budget price, All the Classic Releases 1937-1949 collects a great selection of Bill Monroe's recordings both with his Bluegrass Boys and with his brother Charlie as the Monroe Brothers. The extensive (though not really informative) liner notes don't really shed any light as to whether these are all of Monroe's recorded output from 1937-1949, if these are just complete album releases, singles, and B-sides, or some other permutation, but in listening to the discs it doesn't really matter. The recordings are all truly classic, even if they're not necessarily the versions the listening public is most familiar with ("Kentucky Waltz" and "Blue Moon of Kentucky" both seem to be slightly different versions than the ones that have been established as the Monroe standards). Lester Flatt, Earl Scruggs, Chubby Wise, Clyde Moody, and other Bluegrass Boys alumni all make appearances, and nearly all of Monroe's best-loved songs are represented. While this four-disc set would not be the starting point for bluegrass beginners, die-hard fans of the genre will be quite satisfied with their selection. ~ Zac Johnson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Bill Monroe

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 31,995
  • UPC: 788065771225
  • Shipping Weight: 0.83/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

Top ranking titles in the Country & Bluegrass genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)