Selected Sides 1947-1953: The Very Best of Bluegrass (4-CD Box Set)

Selected Sides 1947-1953: The Very Best of
Only 6 copies left
Sale: $26.09
SUPER SAVINGS: $24.26 Limited Time Only
List Price: $28.99
You Save: $4.73 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  Q8HV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: February 2, 2004
  • Label: Jsp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Molly and Tenbrooks
  • 2.The Rambler's Blues
  • 3.Mother No Longer Awaits for Me at Home
  • 4.The Girl Behind the Bar
  • 5.Little Maggie
  • 6.The Little Glass of Wine
  • 7.Our Darling's Gone
  • 8.The Jealous Lover
  • 9.Death Is Only a Dream
  • 10.I Can Tell You the Time
  • 11.A Vision of Mother
  • 12.The White Dove
  • 13.Gathering Flowers for the Master's Bouquet
  • 14.Angels Are Singing, The (In Heaven Tonight)
  • 15.It's Never Too Late
  • 16.Have You Someone (In Heaven Awaiting)
  • 17.Little Glass of Wine
  • 18.Let Me Be Your Friend
  • 19.We'll Be Sweethearts in Heaven
  • 20.I Love No One But You
  • 21.Too Late to Cry

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Old Home
  • 2.The Drunkard's Hell
  • 3.The Fields Have Turned Brown
  • 4.Hey! Hey! Hey!
  • 5.The Lonesome River
  • 6.I'm a Man of Constant Sorrow
  • 7.Pretty Polly
  • 8.Sweetest Love
  • 9.The Wandering Boy
  • 10.Little Glass of Wine
  • 11.Little Birdie
  • 12.Are You Just Waiting for Me
  • 13.Little Girl and the Dreadful Snake
  • 14.(Say) Won't You Be Mine
  • 15.This Weary Heart You Stole Away (Wake Up Sweetheart)
  • 16.I'm Lonesome Without You
  • 17.Our Last Goodbye
  • 18.Poison Lies
  • 19.Dickson Country Breakdown
  • 20.I Long to See the Old Folks
  • 21.A Voice from on High

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.God Loves His Children
  • 2.I'm Going to Make Heaven My Home
  • 3.We'll Meet Again Sweetheart
  • 4.My Cabin in Caroline
  • 5.Baby Blue Eyes
  • 6.Bouquet in Heaven
  • 7.Down the Road
  • 8.Why Don't You Tell Me So
  • 9.I'll Never Shed Another Tear
  • 10.No Mother or Dad
  • 11.Is It Too Late Now?
  • 12.Foggy Mountain Breakdown
  • 13.I'll Be Going to Heaven Sometime
  • 14.So Happy I'll Be
  • 15.My Little Girl in Tennessee
  • 16.I'll Never Love Another
  • 17.Doin' My Time
  • 18.Pike County Breakdown
  • 19.Cora Is Gone
  • 20.Preachin', Prayin', Singin'
  • 21.Pain in My Heart
  • 22.Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms
  • 23.Back to the Cross
  • 24.Farewell Blues
  • 25.Old Salty Dog Blues
  • 26.Take Me in a Lifeboat
  • 27.Will the Roses Bloom (Where She Lies Sleeping)
  • 28.I'll Just Pretend

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Come Back Darling
  • 2.I'm Head Over Heels in Love
  • 3.I'm Waiting to Hear You Call Me Darling
  • 4.The Old Home Town
  • 5.I'll Stay Around
  • 6.We Can't Be Darlings Anymore
  • 7.Jimmie Brown the Newsboy
  • 8.Somehow Tonight
  • 9.Don't Get Above Your Raising
  • 10.I'm Working on a Road
  • 11.He Took Your Place
  • 12.I've Lost You
  • 13.Tis Sweet to Be Remembered
  • 14.I'm Gonna Settle Down
  • 15.Earl's Breakdown - (TRUE instrumental)
  • 16.I'm Lonesome and Blue
  • 17.Over the Hills to the Poorhouse
  • 18.My Darling's Last Goodbye
  • 19.Get in Line Brothers
  • 20.Brother, I'm Getting Ready to Go
  • 21.Why Did You Wander?
  • 22.Flint Hill Special - (TRUE instrumental)
  • 23.Thinking About You
  • 24.If I Should Wander Back to You

Product Description:

Personnel: Lester Flatt (vocals, tenor, guitar); Curly Seckler (vocals, tenor, mandolin); Earl Scruggs (vocals, baritone, guitar, banjo); Carter Stanley (vocals, guitar); Ralph Stanley (vocals, banjo); Howard Watts (vocals); Mac Wiseman (tenor, guitar); Everett Lilly (tenor, mandolin); Jody Rainwater (bass voice, mandolin); Darrell "Pee Wee" Lambert, Jimmy Williams (mandolin); Bob Summer, Jim Shumate, Howdy Forrester, Art Wooten, Robert Chubby Wise, Art Stamper, Ralph Mayo (fiddle).
Recording information: Cincinnati, OH (09/??/1947-11/25/1953); Knoxville, TN (09/??/1947-11/25/1953); Nashville, TN (09/??/1947-11/25/1953); radio Station WOPI, Bristol, VA (09/??/1947-11/25/1953); Tampa, FL (09/??/1947-11/25/1953).
Selected Sides 1947-1953: The Very Best of Bluegrass contains 94 remastered tracks spread out over four CDs, covering the earliest recordings of both the Stanley Brothers and Flatt & Scruggs. The Stanley Brothers material highlights their initial post-World War II recordings from 1947 and 1948 for Rich-R-Tone and their four-year run with Columbia from 1949-1953. Classic tunes like "Molly and Tenbrooks," "Little Maggie," "Pretty Polly," and "I'm a Man of Constant Sorrow," heard here in their original incarnations, would became standards of the genre. Equally rich in revelatory material are the Flatt & Scruggs tunes recorded for Mercury from 1948 to 1952, between a four-year stint with Bill Monroe's Bluegrass Boys and their longstanding contract with Columbia Records. During this four-year period, the newly formed Foggy Mountain Boys introduced songs that would become hallmarks of bluegrass music, including "Foggy Mountain Breakdown," "Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms," "Old Salty Dog Blues," and "Pike County Breakdown." Purists will find this box to their liking, as JSP not only does an admirable job remastering the tracks but also provides recording dates, personnel, and a bit of history, all easily accessible in individual jewel cases as opposed to a bulky booklet. Well done and recommended. ~ Al Campbell

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Flatt & Scruggs

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 66,966
  • UPC: 788065772420
  • Shipping Weight: 0.85/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)