The Carter Family 1935-1941, Volume 2 (5-CD Box Set)

1935-1941, Volume 2 (5-CD Box Set)
10 ratings
12 copies available
Sale: $26.09
SUPER SAVINGS: $24.26 Limited Time Only
List Price: $28.99
You Save: $4.73 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
sku:  Q8HA
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: March 10, 2003
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Jsp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Glory to the Lamb
  • 2.Behind Those Stone Walls
  • 3.Sinking in the Lonesome Sea
  • 4.He Took a White Rose from Her Hair
  • 5.Can the Circle Be Unbroken (Bye and Bye)
  • 6.Let's Be Lovers Again
  • 7.Your Mother Still Prays (For You, Jack)
  • 8.Kissing Is a Crime
  • 9.Don't Forget Me Little Darling
  • 10.Sad and Lonesome Day
  • 11.By the Touch of Her Hand
  • 12.East Virginia Blues No. 2
  • 13.My Old Virginia Home
  • 14.My Virginia Rose Is Blooming
  • 15.My Texas Girl
  • 16.No Other's Bride I'll Be
  • 17.Gathering Flowers from the Hillside
  • 18.Gospel Ship
  • 19.Little Black Train
  • 20.Keep on the Sunny Side
  • 21.River of Jordan
  • 22.Lonesome Valley
  • 23.God Gave Noah the Rainbow Sign
  • 24.Single Girl, Married Girl
  • 25.The Fate of Dewey Lee
  • 26.Wildwood Flower

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sea of Galilee
  • 2.Don't Forget This Song
  • 3.My Clinch Mountain Home
  • 4.The Storms Are on the Ocean
  • 5.Will You Miss Me When I'm Gone?
  • 6.Broken Hearted Lover
  • 7.Little Darlin' Pal of Mine
  • 8.The Homestead on the Farm
  • 9.Cannon Ball Blues
  • 10.Meet Me by the Moonlight Alone
  • 11.On the Rock Where Moses Stood
  • 12.Lulu Walls
  • 13.I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes
  • 14.Worried Man Blues
  • 15.My Dixie Darling
  • 16.Give Me Your Love and I'll Give You Mine
  • 17.Are You Lonesome Tonight?
  • 18.The Last Move for Me
  • 19.The Wayworn Traveller
  • 20.Just Another Broken Heart
  • 21.When Silver Threads Are Gold Again
  • 22.There's No One Like Mother to Me
  • 23.In a Little Village Churchyard
  • 24.Jealous Hearted Me

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.My Native Home
  • 2.Sweet Heaven in My View
  • 3.No Depression in Heaven
  • 4.Bonnie Blue Eyes
  • 5.My Honey Lou
  • 6.In the Shadow of the Eyes
  • 7.Answer to Weeping Willow
  • 8.You've Been a Friend to Me
  • 9.Where the Silvery Colorado Wends Its Way
  • 10.Lay My Head Beneath the Rose
  • 11.The Broken Down Tramp
  • 12.Lover's Lane
  • 13.Hold Fast to the Right
  • 14.Lord, I'm in Your Care
  • 15.Funny When You Feel That Way
  • 16.In the Shadow of Clinch Mountain
  • 17.Hello Stranger
  • 18.Never Let the Devil Get the Upper Hand of You
  • 19.When This Evening Sun Goes Down
  • 20.Jim Blake's Message
  • 21.Honey in the Rock
  • 22.Look How This World Has Made a Change
  • 23.The Little Girl That Played on My Knee
  • 24.You Better Let That Liar Alone
  • 25.Farewell Nellie
  • 26.Only Girl, The (I Ever Cared About)

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Goodbye to the Plains
  • 2.My Home's Across the Blue Ridge Mountains
  • 3.Dark Haired True Lover
  • 4.He Never Came Back
  • 5.Happy in the Prison
  • 6.Walking in the King's Highway
  • 7.St. Regious Girl
  • 8.Just a Few More Days
  • 9.Bring Back My Boy
  • 10.It Is Better Farther On
  • 11.Charlie and Nellie
  • 12.Cuban Soldier
  • 13.The Heart That Was Broken for Me
  • 14.You're Nothing More to Me
  • 15.Stern Old Bachelor
  • 16.Little Joe
  • 17.Reckless Motorman
  • 18.You Denied Your Love
  • 19.Oh, Take Me Back
  • 20.You Are My Flower
  • 21.Who's That Knocking at My Window
  • 22.They Call Her Mother
  • 23.Coal Miner's Blues
  • 24.Young Freda Bolt
  • 25.Little Poplar Log House on the Hill
  • 26.The Dying Mother
  • 27.Buddies in the Saddle

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Heaven's Radio
  • 2.Beautiful Home
  • 3.There'll Be No Distinction There
  • 4.Give Him One More as He Goes
  • 5.Lonesome for You Darling
  • 6.Blackie's Gunman
  • 7.You've Got to Righten That Wrong
  • 8.Meeting in the Air
  • 9.My Home Among the Hills
  • 10.Black Jack David
  • 11.Look Away from the Cross
  • 12.We Shall Rise
  • 13.I Found You Among the Roses
  • 14.Bear Creek Blues
  • 15.I'll Never Forsake You
  • 16.Beautiful Isle O'er the Sea
  • 17.It's a Long Long Road to Travel Alone
  • 18.Why Do You Cry, Little Darling
  • 19.Lonesome Homesick Blues
  • 20.Dark and Stormy Weather
  • 21.In the Valley of the Shenandoah
  • 22.The Girl on the Greenbrier Shore
  • 23.Something Got a Hold of Me
  • 24.Fifty Miles of Elbow Room
  • 25.Keep on the Firing Line
  • 26.The Wave on the Sea
  • 27.The Rambling Boy

Product Description:

Personnel: A.P. Carter (vocals); Sara Carter (guitar, autoharp); Mother Maybelle Carter (guitar).
Recording information: Charlotte, NC (05/05/1935-10/14/1941); Chicago, IL (05/05/1935-10/14/1941); New York, NY (05/05/1935-10/14/1941).
Unknown Contributor Role: Drew Kent.
British label JSP offers another of their fine budget collections on The Carter Family, Vol. 2: 1935-1941. On 129 songs collected on five CDs, this second volume in the series gives a complete overview of the first family of country music's later years. Legendary songs like "Can the Circle Be Unbroken," "Keep on the Sunny Side," "No Depression," "Single Girl, Married Girl," and "I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes" are all represented, and the sound quality is slightly more even than on the first JSP box, The Carter Family: 1927-1934. Essentially, anyone who can pull together the 60 dollars or so that it would take to own both sets will have not only virtually every Carter Family studio recording, but also a valuable archive of the roots of American music. ~ Zac Johnson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
The Carter Family Music Lover: from THE PALMS GYMPIE, Queensland AU -- August, 6, 2008

Anyone interested in their country`s musical heritage need only to listen to the Carter Family`s early songs of sorrow, love, heartbreak and trials to appreciate this group of harmonious pioneers.

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for The Carter Family

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 27,884
  • UPC: 788065770822
  • Shipping Weight: 1.01/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)