Roy Acuff King of the Hillbillies, Volume 1 (4-CD)

King of the Hillbillies, Volume 1 (4-CD)
4 ratings
Price: $26.08
List Price: $28.98
You Save: $2.90 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  Q8GX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: December 3, 2007
  • Label: Jsp Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Singing My Way to Glory
  • 2.Charmin' Betsy
  • 3.Great Speckle Bird
  • 4.My Mountain Home Sweet Home
  • 5.Gonna Raise a Ruckus Tonight
  • 6.Wabash Cannon Call
  • 7.Freight Train Clues
  • 8.You've Got to See Mama Every Night (Or You Can't See Mama at All)
  • 9.Gonna Have a Big Time Tonight
  • 10.Yes Sir, That's My Baby
  • 11.You're the Only Star (In My Blue Heaven)
  • 12.All Night Long
  • 13.New Greenback Dollar
  • 14.Steamboat Whislte Blues
  • 15.She No Longer Belongs to Me
  • 16.When Lulu's Gone
  • 17.Doin' It the Old Fashioned Way
  • 18.Old Three Room Shack, An
  • 19.Red Lips - Kiss My Blues Away
  • 20.Trouble, Trouble
  • 21.Sailing Along
  • 22.Steel Guitar Chimes
  • 23.Lonesome Valley
  • 24.Sad Memories
  • 25.Steel Guitar Blues

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Old Fashioned Love
  • 2.My Gal Sal
  • 3.Great Speckle Bird, Pt. 2
  • 4.Tell Mother I'll Be There
  • 5.The Rising Sun
  • 6.What Would You Do with Gabriel's Trumpet
  • 7.Shout, Oh Lulu
  • 8.Good-Bye Sweetheart
  • 9.Blue Ridge Sweetheart
  • 10.One Old Shirt
  • 11.Bonnie Blue Eyes
  • 12.The Automobile of Life
  • 13.Smoky Mountain Rag
  • 14.Wabash Blues
  • 15.That Beautiful Picture
  • 16.The Great Shining Light
  • 17.Honky Tonk Mammas
  • 18.Haven of Dreams
  • 19.Answer to Sparking Blue Eyes
  • 20.Smoky Mountain Moon
  • 21.Fly, Birdie, Fly
  • 22.Ida Red
  • 23.Beautiful Brown Eyes
  • 24.Mother's Prayers Guide Me
  • 25.Living on the Mountain, Baby Mine

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.A Vagabond's Dream
  • 2.Old Age Pension Check
  • 3.Eyes Are Watching You
  • 4.I'm Building a Home
  • 5.Walkin' in My Sleep
  • 6.Drifting Too Far from the Shore
  • 7.Come Back Little Pal
  • 8.Will the Circle Be Unbroken
  • 9.When I Lay My Burden Down
  • 10.Beneath That Lonely Mound of Clay
  • 11.The Streamlined Cannon Ball
  • 12.Weary River
  • 13.Just to Ease My Worried Mind
  • 14.Farther Along
  • 15.Blue Eyed Darling
  • 16.The Precious Jewel
  • 17.The Broken Heart
  • 18.Would You Care
  • 19.Lonesome Old River Blues
  • 20.What Good Will It Do
  • 21.Mule Skinner Blues (Blues Yodel #8)
  • 22.Be Honest with Me
  • 23.Worried Mind
  • 24.Things That Might Have Been
  • 25.You're My Darling

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.It Won't Be Long (Till I'll Be Leaving)
  • 2.Just Inside the Pearly Gates
  • 3.I Know We're Saying Goodbye
  • 4.Brother Take Warning
  • 5.The Great Judgement Morning
  • 6.Stuck Up Blues
  • 7.Lying Woman Blues
  • 8.You Are My Love
  • 9.Branded Wherever I Go
  • 10.No Letter in the Mail
  • 11.Are You Thinking of Me Darling?
  • 12.I Called and Nobody Answered
  • 13.Wreck on the Highway
  • 14.Fire Ball Mail
  • 15.I'll Reap My Harvest in Heaven
  • 16.Night Train to Memphis
  • 17.The Prodigal Son
  • 18.Low and Lonely
  • 19.Write Me Sweetheart
  • 20.They Can Only Fill One Grave
  • 21.Don't Make Me Go to Bed and I'll Be Good
  • 22.Not a Word from Home
  • 23.Do You Wonder Why
  • 24.I'll Forgive You But I Can't Forget
  • 25.Blues in My Mind

Product Description:

Personnel: Roy Acuff (vocals, fiddle); Jess Easterday (vocals, guitar, mandolin); Pete "Oswald" Kirty (vocals, steel guitar, banjo); Clell Summey (vocals, steel guitar); Sam "Dynamite" Hatcher (vocals, harmonica); Red Jones (vocals, bass instrument); Lonnie Wilson (guitar); Jimmy Riddle (accordion); Oral Rhodes, Velma Williams (bass instrument); Roy Acuff & His Crazy Tennesseans, Roy Acuff & His Smokey Mountain Boys.
Subtitled "The First 100 Commercial Sides," this four-disc box set delivers precisely that: the first hundred songs Roy Acuff cut, starting with 1936's "Singing My Way to Glory." Part of what's remarkable about this collection is how quickly Acuff found his musical voice: the third song here is "Great Speckle Bird," which, along with "Wabash Cannonball," became Acuff's signature tune. As usual with JSP Records' budget-line box sets, there are four discs here, each with 25 tunes. The songs are carefully remastered and sound excellent, and the liner notes are brief but packed with information. Although priced low enough to appeal even to casual fans, KING OF THE HILLBILLIES is a well-structured and musically solid anthology that will satisfy even diehard Roy Acuff fans.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Roy Acuff

Product Info

  • UPC: 788065779924
  • Shipping Weight: 0.80/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)