Spade Cooley A Western Swing Dance Date With Spade & Tex

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 5.0
3 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
List Price: $17.98
Your Price: $16.18
You Save: $1.80 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  JSM 3510

CD Details

  • Released: July 11, 2000
  • Label: Jasmine Music


  • 1.Diggin' With Spade - Spade Cooley, ,
  • 2.Aria from Dixie - Tex Williams
  • 3.You'll Rue the Day - Spade Cooley, Dance Band, Tex Williams
  • 4.Guitar Swing - Spade Cooley, Dance Band
  • 5.My Chickashay Gal - Spade Cooley, Dance Band, Smokey Rogers
  • 6.Yearning (Just for You) - Spade Cooley, Dance Band
  • 7.Do Ya or Don't Cha - Spade Cooley, Dance Band, Tex Williams
  • 8.Hornpipe Swing - Spade Cooley, Dance Band
  • 9.Wabash Cannonball - Spade Cooley, Dance Band,
  • 10.Texas Playboy Rag, No. 2 - Spade Cooley, Dance Band
  • 11.Fireball Mail - Spade Cooley, Dance Band,
  • 12.Sioux City Sue - Spade Cooley, Dance Band, Red Egner
  • 13.Tattle-Tale Polka - Spade Cooley, Dance Band
  • 14.Piggy Bank Polka - Spade Cooley, Dance Band, Red Egner, Del Porter
  • 15.Leather Britches - Spade Cooley, Dance Band, Del Porter
  • 16.Pale Moon - Tex Williams
  • 17.Red Wing - Tex Williams
  • 18.Crazy 'Cause I Love You - Spade Cooley, Dance Band, Red Egner
  • 19.California Polka - Spade Cooley, Dance Band
  • 20.Texas Playboy Rag - Spade Cooley, Dance Band
  • 21.You Can't Break My Heart - Spade Cooley, Dance Band, Tex Williams
  • 22.Spadella - Spade Cooley, Dance Band
  • 23.Hide Your Face - Spade Cooley, Dance Band, Tex Williams
  • 24.Cowpoke Polka - Spade Cooley, Dance Band
  • 25.Banjo Polka - Smokey Rogers, , Tex Williams
  • 26.Riverside Stomp - Tex Williams
  • 27.Snow Deer Stomp - Spade Cooley, Dance Band

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Spade Cooley, Tex Williams, Smokey Rogers, Ginny Jackson, Red Egner, Del Porter.
Contains 27 tracks.
While the title implies that this is a joint CD of Spade Cooley and Tex Williams' music, it actually focuses more on Cooley's repertoire. Tex Williams and His Western Caravan have eight tracks, while Cooley's band has 19, although four of them do feature Williams who was part of his band for a time. In fact, when Williams was offered a solo recording deal and broke off ties with Cooley he took most of the group with him. Even with all the backstage shenanigans and ego bouts, this budget CD, containing all original recordings, is hardly a comprehensive example of either of the artists work. Cooley's biggest hit, "Shame on Me," is absent, as well as Williams biggest, "Smoke! Smoke! Smoke!" Still, for those looking to save a few bucks this is a good introduction to the sounds of '40s and '50s Western swing, even if there are better compilations available. ~ Curtis Zimmermann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Spade Cooley

Product Info:

  • UPC: 604988351026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item