David Ruffin David

List Price: $16.98
Your Price: $15.28
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  HPOS 623122

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Hip-O Select


  • Buy for $0.991.Each Day Is a Lifetime
  • Buy for $0.992.I Want You Back
  • Buy for $0.993.Out in the Country
  • Buy for $0.994.You Can Come Right Back to Me
  • Buy for $0.995.I Can't Be Hurt Anymore
  • Buy for $0.996.Rainy Night in Georgia
  • Buy for $0.997.I've Got a Need for You
  • Buy for $0.998.Anything That You Ask For
  • Buy for $0.999.Let Somebody Love Me
  • Buy for $0.9910.For the Shelter of Your Love
  • Buy for $0.9911.Dinah
  • Buy for $0.9912.Don't Stop Lovin' Me
  • Buy for $0.9913.It's Gonna Take a Whole Lot of Doin'
  • Buy for $0.9914.I Want Her to Say It Again
  • Buy for $0.9915.Your Heartaches I Can Surely Heal
  • Buy for $0.9916.Get Away Heartbreak (Keep on Moving)
  • Buy for $0.9917.You Make Me Do Things I Don't Want to Do
  • Buy for $0.9918.Mountain of Memories
  • Buy for $0.9919.Heaven Help Us All
  • Buy for $0.9920.Each Day Is a Lifetime - (Mono Single Mix)
  • Buy for $0.9921.Don't Stop Lovin' Me - (Mono Single Mix)
  • Buy for $0.9922.You Can Come Right Back to Me - (Mono Single Mix)
  • Buy for $0.9923.Dinah - (Mono Single Mix)

Product Description:

Personnel: The Andantes, The Originals (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: Suha Gur; Ellen Fitton; Harry Weinger.
Liner Note Authors: Stu Hackel; Harry Weinger.
Recording information: Golden World, Studio B (01/06/1969-05/26/1971); Hitsville, Studio A (01/06/1969-05/26/1971); Los Angeles, CA (01/06/1969-05/26/1971); Golden World, Studio B (08/25/1969-05/26/1971); Hitsville, Studio A (08/25/1969-05/26/1971); Los Angeles, CA (08/25/1969-05/26/1971).
Arrangers: Gene Page; Henry Cosby; Paul Riser; Tom Baird; Wade Marcus; David Van De Pitte.
It's well known that Motown recorded more material than it could release, but its reasons for shelving material remain a mystery to this day. Ever since the CD reissue boom of the late '80s, this unreleased material has begun to trickle out of the vaults, and when it does surface in such forms as the dynamite double-disc set A Cellarful of Motown!, the music is so good it's hard to believe that it never was released at the time. Knowing this, it should not come as a complete surprise that former Temptations lead singer David Ruffin had a full, completed album shelved in 1971, but hearing Hip-O Select's excavation of that album on the 2004 release David: The Unreleased Album, it's still a wonder that this record sat in the vaults for over three decades, with very few of the songs recorded during the sessions appearing on other records and compilations over the years. Far from being unreleasable, David (titled as such because the album was never given a proper title -- it was given a catalog number and track sequencing, with David Ruffin penciled in as its name, but that was used as the title for his 1973 album) finds Ruffin at a solo peak, not just a singer but in terms of material. He cut the 12 songs that comprised the album, along with the seven bonus tracks from the same sessions that fill out this CD reissue, in late 1969 and 1970, after he had a big solo hit with "My Whole World Ended (The Moment You Left Me)," with the intent of releasing the album in 1971. There were a pair of covers of recent hits -- an appropriately heartbroken and seductive "Rainy Night in Georgia" and a rather revelatory "I Want You Back," which added real grit to the Jackson 5's effervescent smash -- but most of this was material written for Ruffin and it played to his strengths. While this music was rooted in Motown's signature sound and performed by the Funk Brothers, it also looked beyond Detroit, adding heavy doses of funk, psychedelia, and smooth soul, filled with galvanizing horns, driving guitars, down-n-dirty clavinets, flourishes of electric sitar, fuzz tones, and wah-wah guitars, all grounded by Ruffin's earthy testifying and tied together by top-notch songwriting. All these elements wound up sounding much hipper than much of the music officially released by Motown in the early 1970, when Stevie Wonder and Marvin Gaye were just beginning to break free of the studio's formula, and while David and its accompanying bonus tracks are not a masterpiece along the lines of Talking Book or What's Going On (or even Where I'm Coming From, for that matter), it's vibrant, exciting music that still sounds fresh -- arguably fresher than full-length Temptations albums of the late '60s -- which qualifies it as a lost classic of sorts. Why was it lost, consigned to the vaults for nearly three and a half decades? According to the liner notes, nobody really knows. Ruffin wasn't popular among the executives at Motown in the early '70s, and he was also going through a number of well-documented personal problems, so it's possible that Motown simply didn't want to promote him at the time, but it's also true that the label had a number of great records, including Marvin's What's Going On, to release in 1971, and Ruffin had two LPs out in 1970, including a duet album with his brother Jimmy, so the market may have been saturated. We'll likely never know the reason why David was buried, but fortunately it has been unearthed, and it's a reason for hardcore soul and Motown fans to celebrate. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for David Ruffin

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 110,853
  • UPC: 602498623121
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday - Friday: 7am-10pm, Saturday: 9am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)