Townes Van Zandt Rear View Mirror (Live)

Rear View Mirror (Live)
26 ratings
11 copies available
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  JYE7
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Fat Possum Records


  • Buy for $1.291.Pancho & Lefty
  • Buy for $1.292.If I Needed You
  • Buy for $1.293.For The Sake Of The Song
  • Buy for $1.294.Our Mother The Mountain
  • Buy for $1.295.To Live Is To Fly
  • Buy for $1.296.Lungs
  • Buy for $1.297.Flying Shoes
  • Buy for $1.298.No Place To Fall
  • Buy for $1.299.Dollar Bill Blues
  • Buy for $1.2910.White Freightliner Blues
  • Buy for $1.2911.Tecumseh Valley
  • Buy for $1.2912.Don't You Take It Too Bad
  • Buy for $1.2913.Tower Song
  • Buy for $1.2914.Rex's Blues
  • Buy for $1.2915.Brother Flower
  • Buy for $1.2916.Waitin' Round To Die
  • Buy for $1.2917.Colorado Girl

Product Description:

Personnel: Townes Van Zandt (vocals, guitar); Danny Rowland (guitar); Owen Cody (fiddle).
Includes liner notes by John Conquest.
All songs written by Townes Van Zandt.
Contains bonus tracks not available on the domestic release.
Personnel: Townes Van Zandt (vocals, guitar); Danny Rowland (guitar); Owen Cody (fiddle).
Van Zandt, the original Texas Troubadour, courted death most of his life. One of his earliest songs was called "Waitin' Round To Die," and he titled one of his albums THE LATE GREAT TOWNES VAN ZANDT. So when a lifetime of hard living finally caught up with him on New Year's Day 1997, the grim visions that made up his oeuvre seemed like nothing so much as a self-fulfilling prophecy. Though the 1993 live album REAR VIEW MIRROR was on Sugar Hill's reissue schedule for months prior to the singer's death, its release only weeks afterward has left the album with a eulogistic feel.
The songs on REAR VIEW MIRROR brim with wit, wisdom and striking poetic imagery. The sound is a combination of Hank Williams' haunted wail and Bob Dylan's surreal balladry. Though there are glimpses of pure beauty ("If I Needed You," "Don't You Take It Too Bad"), most everywhere Van Zandt looks, he encounters a new kind of nightmare. In "Our Mother The Mountain," he's visited by a demonic woman whose "flesh turns to splinters." Most tellingly, in "Lungs," while dreaming of taking the moonlight home with him, he reminds himself that his "hands will turn to butter, better leave this dream alone, try to find another."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.9
Based on 26 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Townes Van Zandt

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 113,810
  • UPC: 767981110721
  • Shipping Weight: 0.12/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Country & Bluegrass genre:

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)