Snow 12 Inches of Snow

12 Inches of Snow
37 ratings
Price: $13.25
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.73 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  37DCW
Brand New

CD Details

  • All "ZSM" coded CDs are in new and never-played condition. Most are sealed. However, product may have manufacturer's delete notch, drill hole, prior sale stickers, or worn or missing OUTER wrap.
  • Released: January 19, 1993
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: East/West Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 5/13/93, p.108
3 Stars - Good - "...["Informer" is] the catchiest and funniest reggae crossover since Musical Youth's comparably nonsensical "Pass The Dutchie" a decade ago..."
Entertainment Weekly - 2/26/93, p.56
"...a shower of reggae rants, hip-hop rhymes, and sensitive crooning..." - Rating: B-
The Source - 2/93, p.58
"...packed with a variety of musical styles and lyrical techniques. While primarily a dancehall artist, Snow is quite capable of throwing diverse elements into the mix..."
Melody Maker - 4/24/93, p.32
"...Brace yourself....two-thirds of [12 INCHES OF SNOW is a] woeful attempt to hang [Snow's] coat of smooch-pop credibility on the jagged hook of hardcore'll need an industrial-strength retch receptacle..."
NME (Magazine) - 5/1/93, p.35
5 - Average - "...This record is so obsessively, meticulously Jamaican that it's ridiculous..."


  • 1.Runway
  • 2.Champion Sound
  • 3.Lonely Monday Morning
  • 4.Drunken Styles
  • 5.Girl, I've Been Hurt
  • 6.Hey Pretty Love
  • 7.Informer
  • 8.Creative Child
  • 9.Lady With The Red Dress
  • 10.Uhh In You
  • 11.Can't Get Enough
  • 12.Ease Up
  • 13.50 Ways
  • 14.Lonely Monday Morning (Remix Version)

Product Description:

Personnel: Snow, MC Shan (vocals); DJ Prince (vocals, bass, percussion); Ronaldo Dasilva (guitar).
Recorded at Bayside Sound Recording Studios, New York.
Personnel: Snow (vocals, background vocals); DJ Prince, MC Shan (vocals).
Audio Mixer: John Ficarrotta.
Recording information: Bayside Sound Recording Studios, Queens, NY.
Director: Jerome Sydenham.
Editor: Rick Huerta.
Photographer: Melanie Nissen.
12 INCHES OF SNOW is a primo dancehall throwdown, combining as it does the best elements of Jamaican dub and reggae with the street smart beats and poetry of American hip-hop. Snow's raps and riddims are as distinctive as his expatriate upbringing in Toronto, Canada, and on the opening "Runway" and the CD bonus track "50 Ways" his jittery rhymes jump trip in and out of the mix like a percussion instrument, recalling the triplet-inflected fills of Jamaican drummers like Sly Dunbar and Bob Marley's "Family Man" Barrett.
And while the smoky mix and jazz samples of 12 INCHES OF SNOW echo the breakthroughs of innovators like Linton Kweksi Johnson, it is the overall diversity of musical elements that sets Snow apart from the run of average rappers, be it the Bobby Brown-like R&B ballad "Girl, I've Been Hurt" or the salsa-funk interplay of "Lady With The Red Dress On."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 37 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 60,844
  • UPC: 075679220721
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)