Edie Adams The Edie Adams Christmas Album

The Edie Adams Christmas Album
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  36QGJ
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Omnivore Recordings


  • 1.Santa Claus is Comin' To Town - (featuring Edie Adams)
  • 2.It's Christmas Time
  • 3.Household / Holiday Blues - (featuring Ernie Kovacs)
  • 4.The Christmas Song (Merry Christmas To You)
  • 5.Silver Bells - (featuring Ernie Kovacs)
  • 6.Blue Christmas
  • 7.Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!
  • 8.I Wonder As I Wander
  • 9.It's a Marshmallow World
  • 10.White Christmas
  • 11.I'll Be Home For Christmas
  • 12.Christmas In Killarney
  • 13.Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  • 14.Winter Wonderland
  • 15.What Are You Doing New Year's Eve

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Josh Mills.
Edie Adams was a beautiful and gifted actress and comedienne, but surprisingly few people today remember her career as a singer. Adams got her first big break when she became a regular on Ernie Kovacs' television series in 1951, and she frequently showed off her gifts as a vocalist on the show, as well as serving as a comic foil for Kovacs, who would marry Adams in 1954. While Adams was a frequent presence on television and in movies well into the '90s, she also appeared in a number of successful stage musicals and headlined in nightclubs; the classically trained Adams even dipped her toes into opera, starring in the Seattle Opera Company's production of Offenbach's La Pericole. In December 1952, Adams was frequently called upon to sing Christmas-themed material on the Kovacs Unlimited show, and 15 rare airchecks of Adams performing seasonal material are collected on The Edie Adams Christmas Album. These numbers were all performed live, with just a piano for accompaniment, and have been preserved here warts and all; Adams briefly flubs the lyrics on "It's A Marshmallow World," a bird makes an unexpected appearance on "Christmas in Killarney," and while Ernie Kovacs may have been one of the most inventive comedians of his time and the love of Edie's life, his two duets here show he was no singer. But Adams is in splendid form on these recordings; she had a fine voice, and her performances had a genuine charm and imagination, while she was capable of sounding jazzy on "Winter Wonderland," poignant on "I'll Be Home for Christmas," contemplative on "I Wonder as I Wander," and playfully romantic on "What Are You Doing New Year's Eve," and handling each with confidence and grace. The album includes a fine liner essay from Josh Mills, Edie's son, attesting to her love of the Christmas holidays, and The Edie Adams Christmas Album shows she loved the songs of the season, and could sing them quite memorably. ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Edie Adams

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 48,420
  • UPC: 816651012084
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)