Asleep At The Wheel Ride With Bob

Ride With Bob
53 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $10.78
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.34 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $3.64 (30% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  K27W
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Dreamworks Nashville

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 9/00, p.96
3 stars out of 5 - "...A rootin' tootin' treat..."
Dirty Linen - 12/99-1/00, p.59
"...the P.T.Barnum of western agreeably matched set of theater and arena-scaled collaborations..."
Mojo (Publisher) - 12/00, p.132
"...Arguably the band's most star-studded offering. A tribute to the music of the Texas Playboys..."


  • Buy for $0.991.Bob's Breakdown
  • Buy for $0.992.New San Antonio Rose
  • Buy for $0.993.I Ain't Got Nobody
  • Buy for $0.994.Roly Poly
  • Buy for $0.995.Heart to Heart Talk
  • Buy for $0.996.Cherokee Maiden
  • Buy for $0.997.Maiden's Prayer
  • Buy for $0.998.You're from Texas
  • Buy for $0.999.Right or Wrong
  • Buy for $0.9910.Faded Love
  • Buy for $0.9911.St. Louis Blues
  • Buy for $0.9912.End of the Line
  • Buy for $0.9913.Take Me Back to Tulsa
  • Buy for $0.9914.Milk Cow Blues
  • Buy for $0.9915.Stay All Night
  • Buy for $0.9916.Bob Wills Is Still the King
  • Buy for $0.9917.Going Away Party

Product Description:

Asleep At The Wheel: Ray Benson (vocals, guitar); Cindy Cashdollar (steel guitar); Jason Roberts (mandolin, fiddle, background vocals); Michael Francis (clarinet, alto, tenor & baritone saxophones); Chris Booher (piano); David Miller (bass, background vocals); David Sanger (drums).
Additional personnel: Willie Nelson, The Manhattan Transfer, Tim McGraw, Reba McEntire, Merle Haggard, Lee Ann Womack, Shawn Colvin, Lyle Lovett, Steve Wariner, Vince Gill, Dwight Yoakam, Don Walser, Ray Benson, Tracy Byrd, Clay Walker, Mark Chesnutt, Clint Black (vocals); Tommy Allsup (guitar); Herb Remington (steel guitar); Johnny Gimble (mandolin, fiddle); Floyd Domino, Curly Hollingsworth (piano); Viktor Kraus (bass); The Dixie Chicks, The Squirrel Nut Zippers.
Recorded in California, Tennessee and Texas in 1998 & 1999. Includes liner notes by Ray Benson.
RIDE WITH BOB won the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Recording Package. "Bob's Breakdown" won the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Country Instrumental Performance. RIDE WITH BOB was nominated for the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Country Album. "Going Away Party" and "Roly Poly" were nominated for the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Country Collaboration With Vocals.
"Cherokee Maiden" won the 2001 Grammy Award for Best Country Performance by a Duo Or Group With Vocal.
Performers include: Tracy Byrd, Shawn Colvin, The Dixie Chicks, Vince Gill, Merle Haggard, Lyle Lovett, Manhattan Transfer, Reba McEntire, Tim McGraw, Willie Nelson, The Squirrel Nut Zippers, Clay Walke, Don Walser, Steve Wariner, Lee Ann Womack, Dwight Yoakam.
THE MAKING OF RIDE WITH BOB was nominated for the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Long Form Music Video.
Recording information: Bismeaux Studio (06/08/1998-03/15/1999); Hum Depot (06/08/1998-03/15/1999); Loud Recording, Nashville, TN (06/08/1998-03/15/1999); Westwood Studio (06/08/1998-03/15/1999).
Arrangers: Ray Benson; Tim "Herb" Alexander ; Janis Seigel.
Ray Benson, the driving force behind the 1993 all-star CD A TRIBUTE TO BOB WILLS, continues his role as keeper of the Western Swing flame with RIDE WITH BOB. An all-star lineup gathers to salute music that's jazzy, bluesy, toe-tapping and just plain fun. AATW serves as the "house band," as each guest artist steps up to the mike to demonstrate how Wills' music lends itself to a variety of arrangements and any number of wildly disparate vocal styles.
The track featuring Willie Nelson and Manhattan Transfer is just as good a fit as the one featuring the Squirrel Nut Zippers, for example. Other highlights include Tim McGraw's bluesy take on "Milk Cow Blues," and longtime Wills booster Merle Haggard's terrific version of "St. Louis Blues." Dwight Yoakam was born to sing "New San Antonio Rose," while Reba McEntire, tearing into "Right or Wrong," sounds like she hasn't had so much fun in years. While these marquee names are the obvious draw on RIDE WITH BOB--other artists include the Dixie Chicks, Clint Black and Shawn Colvin--the quality of the music itself can't be denied. As Clint Black sings near the end of the CD, "Bob Wills Is Still the King."

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 53 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Asleep At The Wheel

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 55,808
  • UPC: 600445011724
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking titles in the Country & Bluegrass genre:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)