Bulletboys Za-Za

9 ratings
SALE: $2.98
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  ZSM 2717
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • All "ZSM" coded CDs are in new and never-played condition. Most are sealed. However, product may have manufacturer's delete notch, drill hole, prior sale stickers, or worn or missing OUTER wrap.
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Warner Bros. Records


  • 1.When Pigs Fly
  • 2.Slow and Easy
  • 3.The Rising
  • 4.Sing a Song
  • 5.Mine
  • 6.1-800-Goodbye
  • 7.The Show
  • 8.For the Damned
  • 9.Laughing With the Dead
  • 10.Fess
  • 11.Crosstop

Product Description:

Bulletboys: Marq Torien (vocals); Mick Sweda (guitar, background vocals); Lonnie Vencent (bass, background vocals); Jimmy D'Anda (drums, percussion, background vocals).
Additional personnel: James Booker (piano); Kim Bullard (keyboard).
Recorded at One On One Studios, North Hollywood, California; Alpha Studios, Burbank, California; Larrabee North, Universal City, California.
Za-Za starts out with a bang, but the scattershot approach to stardom (copping AC/DC's attitude with petty theft of Van Halen's playfulness and Bon Jovi's ballads) seems like a desperate measure; after all, Warner Bros. banked on Bulletboys to be a leader, not a follower. That's fine for some folks who look at the L.A. metal scene as a source of good, consistent product, but most fans were just as happy to get their fix from longstanding acts like M”tley Cr�e and Ratt. Producer Ted Templeman (a veteran of Van Halen, whom Bulletboys were pegged to succeed early in their career) gives the record plenty of pop/metal punch, placing them somewhere between Cheap Trick (on the Templeman-produced Woke up With a Monster) and Jackyl in terms of menacing posture. If Za-Za is only so-so, it's because the track placement undermines the momentum built up at the beginning. The opening "When Pigs Fly" is a scorching kissoff, taunting pop/metal that Templeman brought with him to the subsequent Cheap Trick sessions. "Slow and Easy" introduces elements of Living Colour and Primus into the music, and the band continues to embrace the cutting edge with "The Rising." But just when you think you've got them pegged, Bulletboys spin the clock back ten years with a lame ballad, "Sing a Song"; channels the spirit of Steve Perry ("Mine"); and ends up with an AC/DC screamer that's juvenile even by their standards ("1-800-GOODBYE"). Midway into Za-Za, it's unclear what Bulletboys are after; while the rest of the songs are generally good, they feel disingenuous after so many costume changes. As it turned out, this was Bulletboys' last shot with a major label. And so one more studio science project to create the perfect band winds up in the scrap heap. ~ Dave Connolly
$2.98 Clearance CDs

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 9 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Bulletboys

Product Info

  • UPC: 093624509523
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)