The Soft Boys 1976-81 (2-CD)

1976-81 (2-CD)
3 ratings
SALE: $24.98
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  ZSM 2662
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • All "ZSM" coded CDs are in new and never-played condition. Most are sealed. However, product may have manufacturer's delete notch, drill hole, prior sale stickers, or worn or missing OUTER wrap.
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Rykodisc

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 2/24/94, p.59
3.5 stars - Good Plus - " of the punk era's most unjustly ignored bands. Dreamy and complex at a time when aggressive and stripped down were the norm, the Soft Boys presented an alternative before that term became a marketing strategy...
Entertainment Weekly - 9/17/93, p.88
"...[a] two-disc overview of the psychedelic British new-wave band that introduced Robyn Hitchcock to the world. Inconsistently wonderful..." - Rating: B+

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Wey Wey Hep Uh Hole
  • 2.It's Not Just the Size of a Walnut
  • 3.Ugly Nora
  • 4.The Yodeling Hoover
  • 5.Hear My Brane
  • 6.The Face of Death
  • 7.Wading Through a Ventilator
  • 8.Give It to the Soft Boys
  • 9.I Want to Be an Anglopoise Lamp
  • 10.Fatman's Son
  • 11.Where Are the Prawns
  • 12.Salamander
  • 13.Heartbreak Hotel
  • 14.Caroline Says
  • 15.We Like Bananas
  • 16.The Pigworker
  • 17.Do the Chisel
  • 18.Return of the Sacred Crab
  • 19.That's When Your Heartaches Begin
  • 20.The Book of Love

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Sandra's Having Her Brain Out
  • 2.Leppo and the Jooves
  • 3.The Rat's Prayer
  • 4.Have a Heart Betty (I'm Not Fireproof)
  • 5.Mystery Train
  • 6.He's a Reptile
  • 7.Rock N Roll Toilet
  • 8.Have a Heart Betty (I'm Not Fireproof) - (alternate version)
  • 9.Insanely Jealous
  • 10.Underwater Moonlight
  • 11.I Wanna Destroy You
  • 12.Queen of Eyes
  • 13.Kingdom of Love
  • 14.Positive Vibrations
  • 15.Gigolo Aunt
  • 16.Train Round the Bend
  • 17.Kingdom of Love
  • 18.Only the Stones Remain

Product Description:

The Soft Boys includes: Robyn Hitchcock, Kimberly Rew, Matthew Seligman, Morris Windsor, Andy Melcalfe.
1976-81 collects tracks from each of The Soft Boys' studio albums as well as a number of live and studio rarities.
This is a 38-song tour through the brief and furious life of England's Soft Boys. The songs here, penned by frontman Robyn Hitchcock, bear the traits and quirks Hitchcock continued to explore throughout his hefty subsequent output. The set includes early demos for their full-length debut A CAN OF BEES, live performances and selected tracks from all of their official releases, including the classic UNDERWATER MOONLIGHT. Their earliest release, a 7" EP, found them at their most jagged, with two guitars slashing around one another in a style reminiscent of Captain Beefheart's Magic Band.
By the time of The Soft Boys' demise (brought on, quite simply, by the frustrations of a stalled career--their albums were never released in the United States until much later) they had become quite a sleek outfit who were like a hopped-up Byrds with a propensity for surreality. This collection works as a fine introduction for newcomers, but is also chock full of nice surprises for those who are fans already.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Soft Boys

Product Info

  • UPC: 014431023422
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)