Spade Cooley 1941-1947

1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $17.08
SUPER SAVINGS: $15.39 Limited Time Only
List Price: $18.98
You Save: $3.59 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  C9DR
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 1, 2000
  • Label: Country Routes


  • 1.Haas Stomp
  • 2.Dry And Dusty
  • 3.MacGregor Swing
  • 4.Sweethearts Or Strangers
  • 5.MacGregor Blues
  • 6.Time Changes Everything
  • 7.Rangers Special
  • 8.He's Gone Up The Trail
  • 9.Devil's Dream
  • 10.You Waited Too Long
  • 11.Topeka Polka
  • 12.Worried Mind
  • 13.Three Way Boogie
  • 14.You Can't Break My Heart
  • 15.Spadella
  • 16.Please Give Me One More Chance
  • 17.Soapin' The Saddle
  • 18.Hide Your Face
  • 19.Snow Deer Stomp
  • 20.You'll Rue The Day
  • 21.Cowpoke Polka
  • 22.Blonde Fiddle Blues
  • 23.If I'd Only See'd You
  • 24.Fiddle Boogie
  • 25.Down At The Coocoo House
  • 26.Boggs Boogie
  • 27.Tuesday Two-Step
  • 28.Mountain Mother-In-Law
  • 29.Four Fiddle Polka
  • 30.Diggin' With Spade
  • 31.Leather Breeches
  • 32.Pretty Polka
  • 33.Hollywood Hoedown
  • 34.It's Dark Outside

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Spade Cooley; Tex Williams (vocals); Cal Shrum (fiddle); Noel Boggs, Jimmy Wyble.
Personnel: Spade Cooley (vocals); Virginia Jackson, Del Porter, Tex Williams (vocals); Milton DeLugg (accordion).
Audio Remasterer: Charlie Crump.
Liner Note Author: Kevin Coffey.
Recording information: 1941-1947.
This collection straddles several different eras and facets of Cooley's career, from his pre-bandleader days working with Cal Shrum to mid-'40s transcriptions featuring his regular band to some 1947 sides. Cooley's fiddle work is showcased nicely on tunes like "MacGregor Swing" and "MacGregor Blues" while Tex Williams does the vocal honors on classics like "Sweethearts or Strangers." The 1947 tracks feature stalwarts like Noel Boggs and Jimmy Wyble along with vocalists Ginny Jackson, Red Egner, and even ex-Spike Jones City Slicker Del Porter. The quality of these transcription discs is pretty decent, taking into factor their age and rarity, and this is a delightful set that showcases the talents of one of Western swing's best. ~ Cub Koda

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Sale Items:
Get Email Alerts for Spade Cooley

Product Info

  • UPC: 008637902322
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)