John Zacherle Monster Mash / Scary Tales

Monster Mash / Scary Tales
11 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
sku:  RLGM 400090
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Real Gone Music


  • 1.Monster Mash
  • 2.Hurry Bury Baby
  • 3.Let's Twist Again (Mummy Time Is Here)
  • 4.I'm the Ghoul from Wolverton Mountain
  • 5.Gravy (With Some Cyanide)
  • 6.Popeye (The Gravedigger)
  • 7.Limb from Limbo Rock
  • 8.Weird Watusi
  • 9.Pistol Stomp
  • 10.Dinner with Drac, Pt. 1
  • 11.The Ha-Ha-Ha
  • 12.The Bat
  • 13.Scary Tales (From Mother Goose)
  • 14.A-Tisket, A-Casket
  • 15.Hansel and Gretel
  • 16.Clementine
  • 17.Happy Halloween
  • 18.Monster Monkey
  • 19.The Spider and the Fly
  • 20.A-B-C
  • 21.Little Red Riding Hood
  • 22.Surfboard 1-0-9
  • 23.Dear, Dear Valentine
  • 24.Scary Tales (From Mother Goose) [Version Two]
  • 25.Scary Tales (From Mother Goose) [Version Three]
  • 26.Igor
  • 27.Dinner with Drac, Pt. 2

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Teri Landi.
Recording information: Cameo Parkway Studio, Philadelphia (01/1958-10/1963).
A veteran of small repertory companies in Philadelphia, in 1958 actor John Zacherle grabbed an undertaker's coat from a prop room somewhere and auditioned for a gig as a late-night horror movie host at WCAU-TV, turning the spot into his calling card, re-imagining what a horror movie host could do by designing a laboratory set full of purposely cheap props and inhabited by wacky, ghoulish sidekicks and characters. After moving on to repeat the same sort of format at New York's WABC-TV, Zacherle started a side enterprise by recording Halloween-themed songs and parodies for Philadelphia's Cameo/Parkway label, including "Dinner with Drac, Pt. 1," which became a novelty Top 20 hit in 1962. Having access to the Cameo/Parkway, ahem, vaults meant Zacherle voiced (he really recited more than he sang) his skewed, goofy, and often impossibly juvenile lyrics over some pretty cool backing tracks, complete with wailing saxes and reverbed guitars and sporting spirited support vocals from the likes of the Orlons, the Dreamlovers, and the Cameos. Yeah, Zacherle was definitely a one-trick pony, but that one trick was so deliberately dumb that one can't help but grin at it. This set combines his 1962 LP Monster Mash with 1963's Scary Tales, and the result is one big hayride into a world where everything is comic book ghoul, with Zacherle punning along and acting pretty much like he just wandered in from the street -- the whole routine is oddly endearing somehow. "Dinner with Drac" is here, along with the horn-driven R&B of "Popeye (The Gravedigger)," and several other tracks of like ilk, but the real delights are Zacherle's fractured takes of various Mother Goose rhymes that close this set -- he takes each rhyme and drives it straight to the graveyard with an easy, eerie charm. It makes for some pretty demented children's music. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.8
Based on 11 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for John Zacherle

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 76,309
  • UPC: 848064000907
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)