As I Lay Dying Decas

13 ratings
Only 4 copies left
Price: $10.78
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.20 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  X9AX
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 7, 2011
  • Label: Metal Blade

Entertainment Reviews:

Alternative Press - p.118
3 stars out of 5 -- "Of the originals, 'From Shapeless To Breakable' makes the biggest impact because of its sheer viciousness..."


  • 1.Paralyzed
  • 2.From Shapeless to Breakable
  • 3.Moving Forward
  • 4.War Ensemble
  • 5.Hellion
  • 6.Electric Eye
  • 7.Coffee Mug
  • 8.Beneath the Encasing [Re-Recorded Medley]
  • 9.The Blinding of False Light [Innerpartysystem Remix]
  • 10.Wrath Upon Ourselves [Benjamin Weinman Remix]
  • 11.Confined [Kelly "Carnage" Cairns Remix]
  • 12.Elegy [Big Chocolate Remix]

Product Description:

Personnel: Josh Gilbert , Tim Lambesis (vocals); Phil Sgrosso, Nick Hipa (guitar); Jordan Mancino (drums).
Recording information: Lambesis Studios, San Diego, CA; Signature Sound, San Diego, CA.
Celebrating ten years of crushing metalcore, As I Lay Dying's Decas is a fan-service grab bag of new tracks, remixes, and covers that seeks to show fans not only where the band is going, but where it came from. Covering songs from Slayer, Judas Priest, and, somewhat improbably, the Descendents, the band gives fans a glimpse at some of its influences. While it may seem like a strange bunch, with two metal icons and a punk band, it feels like the connection really comes from the bands' shared relentlessness, with all three groups representing the kinds of musical wind sprints that have pushed As I Lay Dying to the levels of intensity they've made a part of their repertoire. Surprisingly, the most interesting part of the compilation comes not from the new songs, which are certainly solid, but from the remixes. "Wrath Upon Ourselves [Benjamin Weinman Remix]" finds the band's already crunchy sound being pushed to sonic extremes, with the song chopped up to create an abrasive, hyperkinetic reinterpretation that makes the song an even more cathartic and visceral experience than the original. Given the band's emphasis on breakdowns, the dubstep remixes of "Elegy" and "The Blinding of False Light" also show As I Lay Dying's work translating easily from genre to genre, maintaining the same heaviness while changing the sound palette from detuned guitars to guttural bass wobbles. As an album that's based around the idea of looking back and reimagining things, Decas isn't a great place for new fans to pick up with As I Lay Dying, but for those who have been around the block a few times with these guys, it's an album that they won't want to miss out on. ~ Gregory Heaney

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 13 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for As I Lay Dying

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 123,478
  • UPC: 039841505221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.14/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD:

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)