J.E. Mainer Run Mountain

Run Mountain
10% OFF
Rating 3.7
3 ratings
List Price: $16.98
Your Price: $15.28
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Temporarily Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible

Save for Later
Format: CD
Item:  QHSW
on most orders of $50
Brand New
Sorry, this product isn't currently available.
Enter your email address, we'll let you know when it's back in stock:

CD Details

  • Released: January 21, 1997
  • Label: Arhoolie Records


  • 1.Mississippi Sawyer
  • 2.Ramshackle Shack
  • 3.Run Mountain
  • 4.Short Life of Trouble
  • 5.If I Lose, Let Me Lose
  • 6.Greenback Dollar
  • 7.Seven and a Half
  • 8.Don't Go Out Little Darling - (previously unreleased)
  • 9.Over in the Gloryland - (previously unreleased)
  • 10.Country Blues, The - (previously unreleased)
  • 11.Hop Along Peter - (previously unreleased)
  • 12.He's Coming to Us Dead - (previously unreleased)
  • 13.Crying Holy - (previously unreleased)
  • 14.Oh Those Tombs - (previously unreleased)
  • 15.Rhythm Blues - (previously unreleased)
  • 16.Two Little Rosebuds - (previously unreleased)
  • 17.Sally Goodin'
  • 18.Maple on the Hill
  • 19.My Home's in Louisiana
  • 20.Wild Bill Jones
  • 21.Shake My Mother's Hand for Me
  • 22.I'm Just Here to Get My Baby Out of Jail
  • 23.Mama Don't Allow

Product Description:

Personnel: J.E. Mainer (vocals, guitar, banjo, fiddle); Carolyn Mainer (vocals, guitar); Earl Cheeks (vocals); Glenn Mainer (banjo); Otis Overcash (mandolin).
Liner Note Author: Chris Strachwitz.
Recording information: Concord, NC (04/07/1963).
Introduction by: J.E. Mainer.
Photographers: Chris Strachwitz; Elizabeth Weil.
Somewhere near the crossroads of traditional string band music and early bluegrass, you'll find J.E. Mainer's Mountaineers. Though this recording was made in 1963, with Mainer having replaced all his former band members with his own children and a few friends, the collection is still nothing short of superb, with over 70 minutes of high spirited and rambunctious old timey music. Drawing on lively fiddle tunes, classic spirituals, ballads, and standard string band fare, a very loose and impromptu feeling runs through the 23 cuts, as the band seems to be having more than a little fun on tracks like "If I Lose Let Me Lose" and "Crying Holy." Good harmonies, excellent musicianship and an authentic and sincere presentation make Run Mountain a nearly flawless document of traditional string band music. ~ Matt Fink

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.7
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for J.E. Mainer

Product Info:

  • UPC: 096297045626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item