The Maddox Brothers & Rose America's Most Colorful Hillbilly Band: Maddox Brothers & Rose, Volume 1

America's Most Colorful Hillbilly Band: Maddox
10 ratings
Price: $15.28
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  QHSQ
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Arhoolie Records


  • 1.George's Playhouse Boogie
  • 2.Midnight Train
  • 3.Shimmy Shakin' Daddy
  • 4.Careless Driver
  • 5.Move It On Over
  • 6.Whoa Sailor
  • 7.Milk Cow Blues
  • 8.Mean And Wicked Boogie
  • 9.Brown Eyes
  • 10.Honky Tonkin'
  • 11.Time Nor Tide
  • 12.New Mule Skinner Blues
  • 13.Philadelphia Lawyer
  • 14.Sally Let Your Bangs Hang Down
  • 15.When I Lay My Burden Down
  • 16.Hangover Blues
  • 17.Water Baby Boogie
  • 18.Dark As The Dungeon
  • 19.Mule Train
  • 20.Oklahoma Sweetheart Sally Ann
  • 21.Faded Love
  • 22.New Step It Up And Go
  • 23.Alimony, (Pay Me)
  • 24.I Wish I Was A Single Girl Again
  • 25.Your Love Light Never Shone
  • 26.Meanest Man In Town
  • 27.I Want To Live And Love

Product Description:

Personnel: Don Maddox (vocals, fiddle); Fred Maddox (vocals, bass); Rose Maddox (vocals); Henry Maddox (guitar, mandolin); Cal Maddox (guitar, harmonica); Cliff Maddox (mandolin); Jimmy Winkle, Roy Nichols, Gene Breeden (guitar); Bud Duncan (steel guitar).
Includes liner notes by Keith Olesen and Chris Strachwitz.
This compilation contains the Maddox Brothers & Rose original recordings from 1946 to 1951.
Personnel: Cal Maddox (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Don Maddox (vocals, violin, fiddle); Fred Maddox, Rose Maddox (vocals); Henry Maddox (guitar, mandolin); Jimmy Winkle, Roy Nichols, Gene Breeden (guitar); Bud Duncan (acoustic guitar, steel guitar); Cliff Maddox (mandolin).
Liner Note Authors: Chris Strachwitz; Johnny Whiteside.
Editor: Chris Strachwitz.
The Maddox Brothers and Rose first started recording in 1946 for the tiny 4-Star label, and it was there that they cut their most uninhibited sides, in the years immediately after World War II, freely mixing comedy, raw hillbilly sounds (including elements of what would later evolve into rockabilly), and mainstream country. The sides here move freely from hillbilly to blues to honky tonk to what we would later call rock & roll. Their version of "Move It on Over" is one of the hottest tracks of its era -- and all the most amazing since the lead singer is Rose Maddox, and white women performers in those years seldom got to express themselves with the lack of inhibition displayed here. They romp and stomp their way through 27 songs that were so wild and raw, that by the early '50s they made many country music producers cringe at their lack of couth. The CD is worth it just for Rose Maddox's performance on "Milk Cow Blues," a dissolute, cackling, ultimately compelling piece of work that stands next to any other rendition of the song that one cares to name. The group also has savage fun at the expense of sentimental numbers like the ballad "Brown Eyes," and it's hard to listen to too much of this collection without breaking into laughter. The sound is generally excellent and the notes are thorough, although one wishes that there were more information to be found on the history of these actual recordings, which is barely touched upon. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 10 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for The Maddox Brothers & Rose

Product Info

  • UPC: 096297039120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)