The Avett Brothers Live, Vol. 3

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.7
31 ratings
List Price: $13.98
SALE PRICE: $12.58
You Save: $1.40 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  AMCN 182290

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: American Recordings


  • 1.Pretty Girl from Matthews
  • 2.Talk on Indolence
  • 3.Ballad False Start
  • 4.The Ballad of Love and Hate
  • 5.Colorshow
  • 6.I and Love and You
  • 7.Shame
  • 8.When I Drink
  • 9.Murder in the City
  • 10.I Killed Sally's Lover
  • 11.Head Full of Doubt / Road Full of Promise
  • 12.The Perfect Space
  • 13.Paranoia in B Major
  • 14.Distraction #74
  • 15.Kick Drum Heart
  • 16.Salvation Song

Product Description:

Personnel: Scott Avett (vocals, guitar, banjo, piano, drums); Seth Avett (vocals, guitar, piano, hi-hat); Bob Crawford (vocals, upright bass, electric bass).
Audio Mixer: Ryan Hewitt.
Recording information: Bojangles' Coliseum, CHarlotte, NC (08/08/2009).
Photographer: Maria Egan.
Recorded one month before the release of their major-label debut, this album captures a concert in the Avett Brothers' hometown of Charlotte, NC. Four songs are previewed from I and Love and You, with the rest of the set coming from the band's back catalog, reaching as far back as 2002's Live at the Double Door Inn. As with most of the group's albums, the music is purposely unpolished, with missed notes and off-key harmonies amounting to a sort of slapdash, warts-and-all rusticity. The Avett Brothers may not be great musicians -- in a genre populated by nimble-fingered string players and pitch-perfect harmony groups, their talent is easily overshadowed -- but they play with confidence and informality, as though they've transported a lively front-porch jam session to the stage of the Bojangles Coliseum. Of course, it helps to actually see the band perform, especially when the emphasis is on atmosphere as much as the technical craft of the music, but the audience seems to be eating it up, and returning fans will likely do the same. ~ Andrew Leahey

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.7
Based on 31 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for The Avett Brothers

Product Info:

  • Sales Rank: 64,773
  • UPC: 602537159765
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

Top ranking CD: