Johnny Otis Jukebox Hits 1946-1954

Jukebox Hits 1946-1954
1 rating
Sale: $15.26
SUPER SAVINGS: $13.27 Limited Time Only
List Price: $16.95
You Save: $3.68 (22% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  C8V6
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2011
  • Label: Acrobat


  • 1.Driftin' Blues
  • 2.That's Your Last Boogie
  • 3.If It's So, Baby
  • 4.Double Crossing Blues
  • 5.Mistrustin' Blues
  • 6.Misery
  • 7.Cry Baby
  • 8.Cupid Boogie
  • 9.Deceivin' Blues
  • 10.Dreamin' Blues
  • 11.Wedding Boogie
  • 12.Far Away Blues (Faraway Christmas Blues)
  • 13.Rockin' Blues
  • 14.Gee Baby
  • 15.Mambo Boogie
  • 16.All Night Long
  • 17.Sunset to Dawn
  • 18.Call Operator 210
  • 19.Hound Dog
  • 20.Please Forgive Me

Product Description:

Personnel: Johnny Otis (vocals, guitar, vibraphone); Mel Walker (vocals); Devonia Williams (guitar, piano, organ); Pete "Guitar" Lewis (guitar); Preston Love (alto saxophone); James Von Streeter, Lorenzo Holden (tenor saxophone); Fred Ford (baritone saxophone); Preacher Lee Graves (trumpet); George Washington (trombone); Eddie Williams (piano); Leard Bell (drums); Emmanuel "Gaucho" Vaharandes (percussion).
Liner Note Author: Bob Fisher .
Recording information: Chicago, IL (09/14/1945-08/13/1953); Los Angeles, CA (09/14/1945-08/13/1953); New York, NY (09/14/1945-08/13/1953).
C'mon baby, stand up, hug up, and let's groove. These 20 tunes put together on Acrobat from Johnny Otis' years with Savoy are the authentic grooveatious article. Whether it's the slow stroll of "Driftin' Blues," the mid-tempo of "Cupid Boogie," or the completely crazy barrelhouse strut of "Mambo Boogie," "All Night Long," or "Hound Dog," it's all killer no filler. Johnny Otis was the man, picking up from cats like Louis Jordan and Charles Brown and T-Bone Walker; Otis knew hot to let it rip, drip and boil and this set proves it. A great introduction to one of the mightiest. ~ Thom Jurek
Acrobat Music

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Johnny Otis

Product Info

  • UPC: 824046419929
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)