Jacques Brel Les Bonbons, Volume 8

Les Bonbons, Volume 8
1 rating
LOW STOCK: Only 2 copies left
Sale: $12.59
SUPER SAVINGS: $8.13 Limited Time Only
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $5.86 (42% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  R3EW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Barclay


  • Buy for $0.991.Les Bonbons
  • Buy for $0.992.Les Vieux
  • Buy for $0.693.La Parlote
  • Buy for $0.994.Le Dernier Repas
  • Buy for $0.995.Titine
  • Buy for $0.996.Au Suivant
  • Buy for $0.997.Les Toros
  • Buy for $1.298.La Fanette
  • Buy for $0.999.J'aimais
  • Buy for $0.9910.Les Filles Et Les Chiens
  • Buy for $0.9911.Les Bigotes
  • Buy for $0.6912.Les Fenetres
  • Buy for $0.6913.Quand Maman Reviendra
  • Buy for $0.9914.Les Amants De Coeur

Product Description:

This is album from Belgian-born, French-adored Jacques Brel is a compilation of two of his mid-1960's albums.
A straightforward reissue of a 1966 LP, Les Bonbons was, and remains, a solid compilation of Brel's early-'60s output. At this time firmly partnered with cohorts Fran‡ois Rauber and G‚rard Jouannest, the songs on this album are full, rich, and orchestrated to the chanson's best advantage. Essentially a best-of the best so far, Les Bonbons layers the melancholy end of life ("Les Vieux") alongside the bullring's "Les Toros" and the oddly jarring "Les Filles et Les Chiens." This somewhat jarring comparison of man's best friend with man's main squeeze uses a rather annoying blast of organ to punctuate Brel's own rather understated delivery. "Le Dernier Repas," meanwhile, showcases a mad tom-tom beat and remains one of the singer's rather vehement responses to those who constantly criticized what they perceived to be his attacks on France's bourgeois. The title track is, of course, one of the highlights of the set. A roaring triumph in live performance, here, even without an audience to guffaw at Brel's spirited delivery, "Les Bonbons" is still a chuckle-worthy romp. Likewise, "Au Suivant," originally appearing on 1964's eponymous LP, is one of Brel's classics. A smash at the time of release, this unlikely story of a novice military conscript's travails at the beginning of training allowed audiences to feel the young man's pain, even as it took humorous pokes at his fears. It's a fine compilation, although with the onslaught of late-'90s/early-2000s CD reissues on the market, there are better to be had. The great reproduction of the original LP cover art is a bonus, for sure, but the content will be of little help to those fans who prefer their hits all in a row. ~ Amy Hanson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for Jacques Brel

Product Info

  • UPC: 602498081709
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)