Sharon Shannon Libertango

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit/debit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
Rating 4.3
3 ratings
20 copies available
List Price: $16.98
Your Price: $15.28
You Save: $1.70 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  COMP 974392

CD Details

  • Released: September 14, 2004
  • Label: Compass Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Dirty Linen - p.52
"LIBERTANGO is a satisfying Irish stew of diverse ingredients, a blend of instrumental medleys that mostly feature Shannon's regular touring band..."


  • 1.The Whitestrand Sling
  • 2.Libertango
  • 3.Duncan's
  • 4.Phailistín, An - (featuring Róisín Elsafty / Elsafty Family)
  • 5.Albatross
  • 6.Hogs and Heifers
  • 7.The Seven Rejoices of Mary
  • 8.All the Ways You Wander
  • 9.The Burst Mattress
  • 10.Space Party
  • 11.Anachie Gordon
  • 12.The Wishing Well
  • 13.What You Make It (Da da da Da) - (featuring Marvel / Lady K)

Product Description:

Personnel: Sharon Shannon (fiddle, accordion); Sharon Shannon (vocals, various instruments); Sin?ad O'Connor, Róisín Elsafty (vocals); Dónal Lunny (guitar, bouzouki, keyboards, bodhran, percussion); Steve Cooney (guitar); Jim Murray (acoustic guitar, steel guitar, nylon-string guitar); Mary Shannon (banjo, mandolin); Nollaig Casey (fiddle, viola); Steve Wickham (fiddle); Richie Buckley (tenor saxophone); Stephen McDonnell (trumpet); Karl Ronan (trombone); James Delaney, Graham Henderson (piano); James Blennerhassett, Trevor Hutchinson (double bass); Jason Duffy (drums, percussion); John Reynolds, Ray Fean (drums); Danny Byrt (percussion); Rupert Christie (programming); Lady K (background vocals); Kirsty MacColl, Pauline Scanlon (vocals).
Audio Mixers: Rupert Christie; Keith McDonnell; Dónal Lunny; Ivan O'Shea.
Recording information: Bow Lane Studios, Dublin, Ireland (??/1996-07/2003); Grouse Lodge Studios (??/1996-07/2003); Marguerite Studios, Dublin, Ireland (??/1996-07/2003); Sharon's Home, Co. Galway (??/1996-07/2003); Westland Studios, Dublin, Ireland (??/1996-07/2003); Windmill Lane (??/1996-07/2003).
Photographers: Darren Melia; Leo Healy; Jill Furmanovsky; Mary Shannon.
Arrangers: Sharon Shannon; Nóirín Ní Riain; Jim Murray; Sin?ad O'Connor; Steve Wickham; Trevor Hutchinson; Richie Buckley; Mary Shannon.
Part of Sharon Shannon's appeal -- besides her huge ability on both accordion and fiddle -- is her willingness to ignore musical boundaries and color outside the liens, as she's shown on previous albums. With Libertango she does that, but this time the results aren't as successful as they've been in the past. The opener, "The Whitestrand Sling," mixes her playing with a Latin brass section in a combination that works surprisingly well, then she goes and ruins the moment with a dour take on the Fleetwood Mac chestnut "Albatross" that never makes it off the ground. Sin?ad O'Connor sings on a couple of cuts, and a vocal from the late Kirsty MacColl graces a superb version of Astor Piazzolla's title cut (which originally saw the light of day in 1996). Perhaps the strangest, and certainly most intriguing, cut is "An Phailistin" featuring Roisin Elsafty, a Gaelic language piece about the suffering of the Palestinians. Heartfelt as it is, the happy instrumental accompaniment is strikingly at odds with the subject. Then the closer, "What You Make It (Dad Da Da Da)" brings in rapper Marvel; nice idea, and it works better than it should. So, ultimately, a hit-and-miss grab bag from Shannon. But she can never be accused of complacency, and for every experiment that doesn't work, there's one that does. ~ Chris Nickson

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.3
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for Sharon Shannon

Product Info:

  • UPC: 766397439228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item