Robert Parker The Wardell Quezerque Sessions

The Wardell Quezerque Sessions
2 ratings
Price: $16.18
List Price: $16.98
You Save: $0.80 (5% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  9VFG
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: January 5, 2004
  • Label: Night Train Int'l


  • 1.Barefootin'
  • 2.Let's Go Baby (Where the Action Is)
  • 3.Mr. Pitiful
  • 4.I've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)
  • 5.Soul Kind of Loving
  • 6.C.C. Rider
  • 7.The Scratch
  • 8.Happy Feet
  • 9.In the Midnight Hour
  • 10.Directly from My Heart
  • 11.Heading for a Fall
  • 12.I Can't Help Myself
  • 13.Tip Toe
  • 14.Secret Service
  • 15.Yak Yak Yak
  • 16.Everybody's Hip Huggin
  • 17.Foxy Mama
  • 18.Holdin' Out
  • 19.I Caught You in a Lie
  • 20.Barefootin' Boogaloo
  • 21.Soul Sister
  • 22.Bow Legs
  • 23.Boss Lovin'
  • 24.Funky Soul Train - (previously unreleased)

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: John Sinclair.
Let's face it: the name Wardell Quezerque is known only to hardcore R&B fans, those that not only seriously study liner notes, but retain information (a common problem for record geeks with too many names and labels floating around in their heads). To translate the title for those that don't already know, Wardell Quezerque was a producer and co-owner of Nola Records, the label that released all 24 of the tracks on Night Train's 2002 Robert Parker reissue, The Wardell Quezerque Sessions. Foremost among these, of course, is "Barefootin'," the ebullient dance single that was Parker's one big hit. Along with its flip side, the equally infectious "Let's Go Baby (Where the Action Is)," it is the only number here to have previously been reissued. Earlier CD compilations, such as Collectables' Barefootin': Golden Classics, sample from several different labels, and phases, of his career. Although they cover more ground, they don't necessarily provide a better introduction, since most fans of "Barefootin'" are looking for more tunes in that vein, and this collection provides it in spades with 24 tracks of nimble, melodic New Orleans R&B. This is certainly on the lighter side of New Orleans R&B, opting for rolling beats, happy vocals (best illustrated on his covers of "Mr. Pitiful" and "In the Midnight Hour," which are fun, but not nearly as impassioned as those by Otis Redding and Wilson Pickett), and overall effervescent touch, reminiscent of a "pop"-ier Lee Dorsey, which can be quite charming. This holds true throughout the collection, even when the quality of the material dips, which it admittedly does: the covers are often misguided, and while the many attempts to recapture the magic of "Barefootin'" are amusing ("The Scratch," "Everybody's Hip Huggin'," "Happy Feet,"and "Barefootin' Boogaloo"), they wear thin after a while. These do take up a bit more of the track listing than they should, but there are little gems scattered throughout here, such as the wonderful "Heading for a Fall," which makes this not just of interest to serious New Orleans R&B collectors (after all, all of this material was impossible to find on CD prior to this), but this is the place to go for those that want more Robert Parker, because it sure is true this all delivers on the sound of "Barefootin'." ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 3.0
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Robert Parker

Product Info

  • UPC: 048612710726
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)