David Ruffin Essential Collection

Essential Collection
3 ratings
12 copies available
SUPER SAVINGS: $9.90 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.99
You Save: $2.09 (17% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  R3VV
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: April 1, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Universal Uk


  • 1.Everything's Coming Up Love
  • 2.My Whole World Ended (The Moment You Left Me)
  • 3.No Matter Where
  • 4.On And Off
  • 5.Rode By The Place (Where We Used To Stay)
  • 6.Double Cross
  • 7.What You Gave Me
  • 8.I Let Love Slip Away
  • 9.Letter
  • 10.I Don't Know Why I Love You
  • 11.Roving Kind
  • 12.I'm Just A Mortal Man
  • 13.We'll Have A Good Thing Going On
  • 14.I've Lost Everything I've Ever Had
  • 15.I Can't Stop The Rain
  • 16.Questions
  • 17.Discover Me
  • 18.Dinah

Product Description:

David Ruffin's leads landed higher on the charts than Eddie Kendricks when both reigned as the dominant lead singers for the classic Temptations. That reversed when they became solo artists; Kendricks enjoyed a far more successful and consistent career than Ruffin. Ruffin had two major hits: "My Whole World Ended the Moment You Left Me" and "Walk Away From Love" (the exquisite Van McCoy production); the latter didn't make this compilation, which is perplexing because other McCoy productions -- "Everything's Coming up Love," "On and Off," the marvelous "Questions," and "Discover Me" -- did. Purists love Ruffin au naturel and singing in his proper key; examples of this include: "I'm Just a Mortal Man," "Roving Kind," and "The Letter" (an uninteresting, atypical Smokey Robinson song; not the Box Tops' hit), but adding them and not "Walk Away From Love" is ludicrous. But all is not doom and gloom; there are some startling cuts, many unfamiliar to most because they were either album cuts or B-sides. Tunes like "No Matter Where," "The Double Cross," "We'll Have a Good Thing Going On," and the R&B hit "I Lost Everything I Ever Loved" are exciting performances by Ruffin. Still, the omission stinks. And what's up with "What You Gave"? Everybody at Motown seems to have recorded this Nickolas Ashford/Valerie Simpson song and the results are all the same -- boring. ~ Andrew Hamilton

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for David Ruffin

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 31,917
  • UPC: 601215973020
  • Shipping Weight: 0.20/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)