Joe Barry A Fool To Care: Classic Recordings 1960-1977 (2-CD)

A Fool To Care: Classic Recordings 1960-1977
Only 4 copies left
SUPER SAVINGS: $19.74 Limited Time Only
List Price: $22.99
You Save: $3.25 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  AJ75
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: September 4, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Ace Records UK


  • 1.Spoken Intro / I'm A Fool To Care
  • 2.I Got A Feeling
  • 3.Till The End of The World
  • 4.Heartbroken Love
  • 5.Teardrops In My Heart
  • 6.For You Sunshine
  • 7.Greatest Moment of My Life
  • 8.You Don't Have To Be A Baby To Cry
  • 9.I Can't Do Without You
  • 10.Can't Live With You
  • 11.Try Rock 'N' Roll
  • 12.Secret Love
  • 13.I Say! Everything's Alright - Roosevelt Jones
  • 14.Any Old Time - Roosevelt Jones
  • 15.Why Did You Say Goodbye
  • 16.Little Papoose
  • 17.Just Because
  • 18.Little Jewel of The Vieux Carre (Old Square)
  • 19.Is It Wrong (For Loving You)
  • 20.I'm Looking Over A Four Leaf Clover
  • 21.Big Mamou - With Mary Mccoy
  • 22.The Loneliest Boy In Town
  • 23.Bouquet of Roses
  • 24.You Belong To My Heart
  • 25.Beg Your Pardon
  • 26.Don't Close The Door
  • 27.Every Morning, Noon and Night
  • 28.Yonder Comes A Sucker
  • 29.A Fool Such As I
  • 30.Come What May
  • 31.You Darling, You
  • 32.You Call Everybody Darling
  • 33.Stop Telling Lies
  • 34.Lucky Morning
  • 35.Yonder Comes A Sucker (Alternate Take)
  • 36.You Darling, You (Alternate Take)
  • 37.Spoken Intro /
  • 38.Je Suis Bete Pour T'aimer - Joseph Barrios
  • 39.Oh, Teet Fille - Joseph Barrios
  • 40.Blue Yodel # 6 (She Left Me This Mornin') (Demo)
  • 41.Three's A Crowd
  • 42.Today I Started Loving You Again
  • 43.You're Why I'm So Lonely
  • 44.Tomorrow Never Comes
  • 45.Think It Over
  • 46.Always Late (With Your Kisses)
  • 47.I Almost Lost My Mind
  • 48.It's A Sin To Tell A Lie
  • 49.Cold Cold Heart
  • 50.The Prisoner's Song
  • 51.I Let Happy Pass Me By
  • 52.If You Really Want Me To I'll Go

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Tony Rounce.
Photographer: Johnny Vallis.
It's missing a few obscure singles from the late 1960s, but otherwise, this two-CD anthology has everything Joe Barry recorded in the '60s and '70s, including the master take of everything he did for producers Floyd Soileau and Huey Meaux. His sole national hit, 1961's "I'm a Fool to Care," couldn't help but recall Fats Domino in its lazy drawl and New Orleans R&B backing; in the version here that adds a brief spoken intro, Barry even states, "though I sound like my friend the Fat Man, this is Joe Barry." For better or worse, the Domino comparisons would dog Barry throughout his career. And to be fair, those comparisons are pretty valid. True, Barry was white, and might have had a slightly more pronounced swamp pop bent (and a more country one on some of his later sides). Yet most of this material (the majority dating from the early '60s) sounds a lot like Fats' sides from the same period -- not even like outtakes or imitations, but Domino tracks that you might not happen to have heard. If that's a sound you like, however, Barry certainly does a credible job with the style. He mixes some of his own songs with covers of pre-rock/pop songs (which "I'm a Fool to Care" was in its original incarnation), pre-rock country tunes, and compositions in which notable guys like Dave Bartholomew, Huey Meaux, and even Dr. John (under his real name, Mac Rebennack, on the 1963 single "The Loneliest Boy in Town") had a hand. There are also some rarities, like his pre-"I'm a Fool to Care" 1960 single, a 1962 single done under the pseudonym Roosevelt Jones," a few outtakes and alternates, and a French version of "I'm a Fool to Care," credited to Josef Barrios. The liner notes provide an excellent overview of his career, but take heed that the mid-'70s recordings filling more than half of disc two aren't so hot, with more modern production not as suited to Barry's voice and material. ~ Richie Unterberger

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 32,306
  • UPC: 029667052429
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)