James Brown The Singles, Volume 4: 1966-1967 (2-CD)

The Singles, Volume 4: 1966-1967 (2-CD)
4 ratings
Price: $26.98
List Price: $29.98
You Save: $3 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  C89V
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Hip-O Select

Entertainment Reviews:

Record Collector (magazine) - p.86
4 stars out of 5 -- "It's Brown's maverick nature, combines with his foibles and idiosyncrasies, which makes his career so fascinating. This fourth instalment is every bit as enthralling as the previous three volumes."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • Buy for $0.991.Ain't That a Groove
  • Buy for $1.292.Ain't That a Groove
  • Buy for $0.993.New Breed (The Boo - Ga - Loo)
  • Buy for $0.994.New Breed (The Boo - Ga - Loo)
  • Buy for $1.295.It's a Man's Man's Man's World
  • Buy for $1.296.Is It Yes Or Is It No?
  • Buy for $0.997.James Brown's Boo - Ga - Loo
  • Buy for $0.998.Lost In a Mood of Changes
  • Buy for $1.299.Money Won't Change You
  • Buy for $1.2910.Money Won't Change You
  • Buy for $1.2911.This Old Heart
  • Buy for $1.2912.Don't Be a Dropout
  • Buy for $1.2913.Tell Me That You Love Me
  • Buy for $0.9914.Let's Go Get Stoned
  • Buy for $0.9915.Our Day Will Come
  • Buy for $1.2916.This Christmas Song
  • Buy for $1.2917.This Christmas Song
  • Buy for $0.9918.Sweet Little Baby Boy
  • Buy for $0.9919.Sweet Little Baby Boy
  • Buy for $0.9920.Let's Make Christmas Mean Something This Year
  • Buy for $0.9921.Let's Make Christmas Mean Something This Year

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • Buy for $1.291.Bring It Up
  • Buy for $1.292.Nobody Knows
  • Buy for $0.993.Kansas City
  • Buy for $1.294.Stone Fox
  • Buy for $0.995.It's a Gas
  • Buy for $0.996.It's a Gas
  • Buy for $0.997.Think
  • Buy for $1.298.Let Yourself Go
  • Buy for $1.299.Good Rockin' Tonight
  • Buy for $1.2910.I Loves You Porgy
  • Buy for $0.9911.Yours and Mine
  • Buy for $0.9912.Jimmy Mack
  • Buy for $0.9913.What Do You Like
  • Buy for $1.2914.It Won't Be Me
  • Buy for $1.2915.Mona Lisa
  • Buy for $0.9916.Cold Sweat
  • Buy for $1.2917.Cold Sweat
  • Buy for $1.2918.Get It Together
  • Buy for $0.9919.Get It Together
  • Buy for $0.9920.Get It Together
  • Buy for $0.9921.Get It Together

Product Description:

Personnel: James Brown (vocals, piano, organ); Eldee Williams (vocals, tenor saxophone); Vicki Anderson (vocals, background vocals); Wallace Richardson, Bobby Roach, Jimmy Nolen, Lonnie Mack, Alfonzo Kellum, Troy Seals, Billy Butler, Carl Lynch (guitar); Ray Castillo, Ron Konieczka, Herman Wasserman, Joe Sherman (violin); Nat Jones (alto saxophone, organ); James McGary, George Dorsey (alto saxophone); Clifford Jordan, Alfred "Pee Wee" Ellis, Maceo Parker, Jr., Alfred Corley, J.C. Davis , Sam "The Man" Taylor , Seldon Powell, St. Clair Pinckney, Kiane Zawadi (tenor saxophone); Charles Carr, Haywood Henry (baritone saxophone); Levi Rasbury (trumpet, valve trombone); Joe Dupars, Waymon Reed, Reunald Jones, Fielder Floyd, Denny Bayliss, Dick Coghill, Johnny Grimes, Dud Bascomb, Ernie Royal, Frank Brown , Lamar Wright, Ron Harper (trumpet); Garnett Brown, Jimmy Cleveland, Richard Harris (trombone); Ernie Hayes (piano, organ); Albert Dailey, Jr., Sonny Thompson (piano); Bernard Odum, David "Hooks" Williams, Jimmy Tyrell, Al Lucas, Michael Moore (bass guitar); Clyde Sutbblefield, Jimmie Robinson, John Starks, Nat Kendrick, Panama Francis, Bernard "Pretty" Purdie (drums); Ron Selico (bongos); Grace Ruffin, Margie Clark, Sandra Bears, Dee Watkins, Gigi Griffin, Irene Vinegar, Johnny Terry, Lloyd Stallworth, Martha High, Bobby Bennett, Bobby Byrd (background vocals).
Audio Remasterer: Seth Foster.
The singles included on this collection represent the period when the Godfather of Soul was coming fully into his own. By 1966 he had definitively cast off all remnants of the '50s-style R&B that influenced him and cropped up in his early-'60s recordings. On such tunes as the immortal "Cold Sweat," "Get it Together," and "Ain't That a Groove," one can hear the sound of James Brown as we know and love it today coming into full flower. The percolating, polyrhythmic, on-the-one grooves, the modal song structures, and of course Brown's unfettered vocal exhortations (not to mention his fabulously funky organ work)--it's all here in one neat package, vital funk for the ages and for your ears (and feet).

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 5.0
Based on 4 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Get Email Alerts for James Brown

Product Info

  • UPC: 602517407725
  • Shipping Weight: 0.30/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-11pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)