Testament Dark Roots of Earth [Deluxe Edition] (CD + DVD)

Dark Roots of Earth [Deluxe Edition] (CD + DVD)
84 ratings
Price: $13.48
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  QKRX
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: July 31, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Nuclear Blast Americ

Entertainment Reviews:

Kerrang (Magazine) - p.53
"'Last Stand For Independence' utilises a superb whiplash riff while 'True American Hate' verges on a hardcore level of belligerence in its chest-beating refrain."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Rise Up
  • 2.Native Blood
  • 3.Dark Roots of Earth
  • 4.True American Hate
  • 5.A Day In the Death
  • 6.Cold Embrace
  • 7.Man Kills Mankind
  • 8.Throne of Thorns
  • 9.Last Stand For Independence
  • 10.Dragon Attack
  • 11.Animal Magnetism
  • 12.Powerslave
  • 13.Throne of Thorns [Extended]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Disciples of the Watch [DVD]
  • 2.Practice What You Preach [DVD]
  • 3.Over the Wall [DVD]
  • 4.Souls of Black [DVD]
  • 5.Bonus Material [DVD]

Product Description:

Personnel: Chuck Billy (vocals); Eric Peterson (guitar, background vocals); Alex Skolnick (guitar); Gene Hoglan (drums).
Audio Mixers: Andy Sneap; Testament.
Recording information: Backstage Studios, Derby, UK (2011/2012); Driftwood Studios, Oakland, CA (2011/2012); Spin Studios, Long Island City, NY (2011/2012); Trident STudios, Martinez, CA (2011/2012).
Forget Metallica, forget Megadeth, Anthrax, and even Slayer! The most formidable on-stage thrash metal powerhouse of 2011 was arguably the (mostly) reconstituted classic lineup of Testament: singer Chuck Billy, guitarists Alex Skolnick, and Eric Peterson, plus returning bass badass Greg Christian and occasional drummer Gene Hoglan, who probably tops most predecessors on the stool, most would agree. This fearsome ensemble spent several months tearing up concert halls worldwide, consistently putting the "mosh" back in the "pit," before invading Oakland, California's Driftwood Studios to record their tenth album Dark Roots of Earth, which, though not quite as timeless as Testament's late-'80s triumphs, sure comes as close as anything they've done over the past 20 years. Savagely lucid thrashers like "Rise Up," "True American Hatred," and "Last Stand for Independence" highlight everything that made Testament special from day one and their failure to achieve stardom so perplexing: the homegrown Bay Area violence rivaled only by Exodus and a versatile musicality on par with Metallica. A simplistic analysis could chalk up the former to rhythm guitarist Peterson's brute-fist force, the latter to lead shredder Skolnick's Satriani-caliber virtuosity, but they are both just pieces of the band's alchemical musical puzzle, complemented by Billy's unique penchant for growling in tune, Christian's inventive and athletic bass contributions, and Hoglan's devastating percussive propulsion (if anything, he holds some of his death metal tricks in check here). Returning to the music itself, the more melodically driven title track and pummeling anti-ballad "Cold Embrace" raise fond memories of the Souls of Black and Practice What You Preach eras, respectively; and in the particularly memorable "A Day in the Death," fans get a polished-off ancient outtake co-written by original vocalist Steve "Zetro" Souza! Finally, though the songs named above largely see Testament reaping nostalgia's rewards, the multifaceted "Throne of Thorns" reveals new sounds, ideas, and a willingness to experiment more aggressively in years to come. For now, Dark Roots of Earth improves upon 2008's comeback The Formation of Damnation and, in tandem with those rejuvenated live performances, promises a well-deserved second act for a band that so narrowly missed grasping the golden ring its first time around. Who knows, the best may be yet to come for Testament. ~ Eduardo Rivadavia

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 84 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Testament

Product Info

  • UPC: 727361250980
  • Shipping Weight: 0.28/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)