Elvis Costello This Year's Model [Deluxe Edition] (Limited) (2-CD)

This Year's Model [Deluxe Edition] (Limited)
121 ratings
Price: $24.29
List Price: $26.99
You Save: $2.70 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  X9YV
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released:
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Hip-O Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.60
5 stars out of 5 -- "The music is surprisingly lush and pretty....Yet it's all punk rage, thanks to Pete Thomas' drums and Steve Nieve's cranky organ."
Rolling Stone - 12/11/03, p.118
Ranked #98 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "...The most 'punk' of Costello's records....Costello vs. the world. And Costello wins..."
Rolling Stone - 2/28/02, p.61
5 stars out of 5- "...Loosed punk's bilious hyperactivity upon the soul-based virtuosity of pub rock....uncoiling with an intensity Costello rarely equaled afterward..."
Spin - 12/03, p.122
"...Some of the most stinging songs ever committed to record...'
Spin - p.102
"His nastiest and most awesome record..."
Entertainment Weekly - 2/22/02, p.149
"...Redefined the quirky troubadour as bilious rocker...For those alienated by his C&W and classical forays, this is a reminder of the black-hearted virtuoisty they fell for in the forst place." - Rating: A+
Q - 6/00, p.62
Ranked #82 in Q's "100 Greatest British Albums"
Q - 5/02 SE, p.135
Included in Q's "100 Best Punk Albums".
Q - 11/93, p.143
4 Stars - Excellent - "...THIS YEAR'S MODEL shows the benefits of [Costello] establishing his own band..."
Uncut - p.84
5 stars out of 5 -- "[H]e delivered a scathing attack on everything from his own status as Next Big Thing to celebrity culture to boy-girl romance itself, all backed with The Attractions' wired intensity."
Uncut - 1/03, p.97
Included in Uncut's "100 Best Albums of the Year"
Mojo (Publisher) - p.120
4 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t still dazzles....His goggle-eyed legacy remains inspiring."
Mojo (Publisher) - 3/02, p.122
"...The petulant intensity strikes you first. It's all gall. With his part Dylan, part Lydon, part, ahem, Graham Parker delivery, he was so 'cross'..."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.90
4 stars out of 5 -- "THIS YEAR'S MODEL was the post-punk distillation of the times, especially in its portraits of London."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.No Action - (with Elvis Costello & The Attractions)
  • 2.This Year's Girl - (with Elvis Costello & The Attractions)
  • 3.Beat, The - (with Elvis Costello & The Attractions)
  • 4.Pump It Up - (with Elvis Costello & The Attractions)
  • 5.Little Triggers - (with Elvis Costello & The Attractions)
  • 6.You Belong To Me - (with Elvis Costello & The Attractions)
  • 7.Hand In Hand - (with Elvis Costello & The Attractions)
  • 8.(I Don't Want To Go To) Chelsea - (with Elvis Costello & The Attractions)
  • 9.Lip Service - (with Elvis Costello & The Attractions)
  • 10.Living In Paradise - (with Elvis Costello & The Attractions)
  • 11.Lipstick Vogue - (with Elvis Costello & The Attractions)
  • 12.Night Rally - (with Elvis Costello & The Attractions)
  • 13.Radio, Radio - (with Elvis Costello & The Attractions)
  • 14.Big Tears
  • 15.Crawling To The USA
  • 16.Tiny Steps
  • 17.Running Out Of Angels - (demo)
  • 18.Greenshirt - (demo)
  • 19.Big Boys - (demo)
  • 20.Neat Neat Neat - (live)
  • 21.Roadette Song - (live)
  • 22.This Year's Girl - (Alternate Basing Street Studios Version)
  • 23.(I Don't Want To Go To) Chelsea

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Pump It Up - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 2.Waiting For The End Of The World - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 3.No Action - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 4.Less Than Zero - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 5.Beat, The - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 6.(The Angels Wanna Wear My) Red Shoes - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 7.(I Don't Want To Go To) Chelsea - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 8.Hand In Hand - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 9.Little Triggers - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 10.Radio, Radio - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 11.You Belong To Me - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 12.Lipstick Vogue - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 13.Watching The Detectives - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 14.Mystery Dance - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 15.Miracle Man - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 16.Blame It On Cain - (previously unreleased, live)
  • 17.Chemistry Class - (live)

Product Description:

THIS YEAR'S MODEL is packaged with a 28-page booklet that includes rare photos and printed song lyrics.
Elvis Costello & The Attractions: Elvis Costello (vocals, guitar); Steve Nieve (keyboards); Bruce Thomas (bass); Pete Thomas (drums).
Additional personnel: Mick Jones (guitar); Davey Payne (saxophone).
Producer: Nick Lowe.
Reissue producers: Gary Stewart, Val Jennings.
Recorded between August 1977 and October 1978. Originally released on Columbia (35331). Includes liner notes by Elvis Costello.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Elvis Costello (vocals, guitar); Elvis Costello; Mick Jones (guitar); Davey Payne (saxophone); Steve Nieve (keyboards); Bruce Thomas (bass guitar); Pete Thomas (drums, drum).
Recording information: Basing Street Studios (1977-1978); Eden Studios, London, England (1977-1978); Leicester University, England (1977-1978); Warner Theater, Washington DC (1977-1978); Waterloo Studios, Sydney, Australia (1977-1978).
Photographers: Roberta Bayley; Chris Gabrin.
For his second album, Elvis Costello fine-tuned his aesthetic by abandoning the California studio cat accompanists of his debut for the more aggressive, quirky and very British Attractions, who would define EC's sound over the next several years. Where MY AIM IS TRUE highlighted Costello's rootsy influences (the Band, etc.), THIS YEAR'S MODEL wholeheartedly embraces the "new wave" out-with-the-old mindset, favoring tightly wound ferocity over back-porch-isms.
Irresistibly catchy, in a twitchy, neurotic, white-knuckled way, THIS YEAR'S MODEL is Costello at his edgiest. The classic "Pump It Up" pummels the listener with garage-band organ, pounding drums, and HIGHWAY 61 REVISITED-style ranting. "Radio, Radio" turned into something of an anti-authoritarian anthem for Costello. The snaky guitar and reggae-tinged drums of "I Don't Want to Go to Chelsea" complement his verge-of-a-nervous-breakdown vocal performance nicely. Come to think of it, so does nearly everything else here.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 121 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!
Get Email Alerts for Elvis Costello

Product Info

  • UPC: 602517606319
  • Shipping Weight: 0.35/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-9pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)