David Fanshawe Music of the Nile: The Original African Sanctus J

Music of the Nile: The Original African Sanctus J
10% OFF
Rating 4.5
2 ratings
LOW STOCK: Only 3 copies left
List Price: $14.99
Your Price: $13.49
You Save: $1.50 (10% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Item:  R4H2
on most orders of $35
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 22, 2003
  • Label: Arc Music


  • 1.Welcome Bwala Dance - (with Various Artists)
  • 2.Muezzin Call to Prayer - (with Various Artists)
  • 3.River of Tha Pharoahs - (with Various Artists)
  • 4.Egyptian Wedding Luxor - (with Various Artists)
  • 5.Water Well Song - (with Various Artists)
  • 6.Abu Simbel Temple Dance - (with Various Artists)
  • 7.Prophet's Song - (with Various Artists)
  • 8.Islamic Prayer School - (with Various Artists)
  • 9.Camel Drivers' Songs - (with Various Artists)
  • 10.Reed Pipe & Grass Cutting Song - (with Various Artists)
  • 11.Darfur Courtship Dances - (with Various Artists)
  • 12.Four Men on a Prayer Mat - (with Various Artists)
  • 13.Zebaidir Song - (with Various Artists)
  • 14.Hadandua Love Song & Bells - (with Various Artists)
  • 15.War Drums Al-Mahdi - (with Various Artists)
  • 16.Shilluk Coronation Fashoda - (with Various Artists)
  • 17.Paddle Steamer of the Sudd - (with Various Artists)
  • 18.Frogs & Zande Song of Flight - (with Various Artists)
  • 19.Tamboura Song Liri - (with Various Artists)
  • 20.Edongo Dance Arua - (with Various Artists)
  • 21.Kabalega Falls - (with Various Artists)
  • 22.Busoga Fishermen - (with Various Artists)
  • 23.Teso Fishermen - (with Various Artists)
  • 24.Bowed Harp - (with Various Artists)
  • 25.Acholi Enanga - (with Various Artists)
  • 26.Dingi Dingi Dance - (with Various Artists)
  • 27.Rain Song of Latigo Oteng - (with Various Artists)
  • 28.Bunyoro Xylophone Madinda - (with Various Artists)
  • 29.Royal Acholi Bwala Dance - (with Various Artists)
  • 30.Samia Rowing Chant - (with Various Artists)
  • 31.Song of Lamentation - (with Various Artists)
  • 32.Song of the River - (with Various Artists)
  • 33.Karamoja Children's Song - (with Various Artists)
  • 34.Turkana Cattle Song - (with Various Artists)
  • 35.Masailand Milking Song - (with Various Artists)
  • 36.Luo Ritual Burial Dance - (with Various Artists)
  • 37.Aluar Horns - (with Various Artists)

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: David Fanshawe.
Editor: David Fanshawe.
Photographer: David Fanshawe.
Music of the Nile: The Original African Sanctus J is the set of companion recordings to the classic African Sanctus album. In large part, these are the tracks that went into the making of African Sanctus, mostly short bits of various ceremonial dances and the like, along with the stray environmental recording. A few of the recordings weren't used on African Sanctus itself, but were recorded on the same journeys through Africa, up and down the Nile through Egypt, Uganda, Sudan, and Kenya, in 1969 and 1975. The pieces here are all performed by the various native musicians, and were recorded by David Fanshawe as he traveled from village to village. With the inclusion of the environmental tracks and the exclusion of studio recordings, this becomes an ethnomusicologist's delight, as it paints Steven Feld's concept of a "sound environment" quite well. The ceremonial music is present, as is the everyday music, as is the non-musical sound of everyday life. The recording quality is outstanding, especially considering it was done with what was essentially a lump of electronics carried around the continent in backpacks and on steamboats. For an armchair ethnomusicologist, this album would be highly worthwhile. For the average listener looking for some dance music, it wouldn't be bad, but there are certainly albums more focused on that aspect. Regardless of your status as an ethnic music listener, this album goes well with the African Sanctus album, and anyone listening to one should most likely give the other a listen as well. ~ Adam Greenberg

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating: Rating 4.5
Based on 2 ratings.
Be the first Music Lover to write an online review of this product!

Similar Products:

Music Categories:
Email Icon
Get Email Alerts for David Fanshawe

Product Info:

  • UPC: 743037179324
  • Shipping Weight: 0.29/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Weekends: 10am-10pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)
Memorial Day: 10am-6pm